DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
RONIN SAGA
by Justin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2024 04:08:30

Truly underappreciated jewel! Read through it in one go, I'll be trying to get it at the table by mixing it with its Mörk Borg counterpart, Rōnin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RONIN SAGA
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
RONIN SAGA
by Dimitri [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2024 11:35:12

Yet another jewel from Kobayashi's Livres de l'Ours: simple and elegant osr feeling rules and mechanical stuff, a simple, rich and mind-blowing gaming proposal for the players, all packed in an amazingly illustrated layout. For creative GMs, the 134 pages book reveals a whole universe to build, with clever tables to put everything in place in no time, straight to the adventure point ! For the PCs, easy character creation, yet allowing personalized and strong themed, always in the mood of the game: a samurai/ ninja/ chambara like game with a fantasy twist ! Simple rules, strong theme, amazing illustrations and layout, straight to the point writing style, after Fléaux and Black Sword Hack, this is another great game !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Extinction
by Cameron [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2024 23:10:28

'Extinction' only recently came to my attention I'm currently giving it a good read now, and I'm really impressed.

I love the simple, straightforward chasis of Black Hack, and once again the author 'Kobayshi' makes great use of it for a foundation to rift off, just like he has done with his other games like Fleaux and Black Sword Hack.

The essence of Cold Hard Sci Fi Horror is perfectly captured clearly, and succinctly in just 75 pages, encompassing core mechanics, character archetypes, genre lore and setting detail, as well as a sample scenario and the tools to create your own, including creating Alien threats and the like.

Kobayshi's BH games are almost becoming instant buys for me.

(The only reason these games don't get the fifth star is I reserve that to encompas professional artwork and whatnot in the book, and for a form-fillable character sheet. For an indie publisher however, these books are top shelf)

Highly recommend these titles, this one included!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Extinction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
RONIN SAGA
by Thibaut [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2024 05:09:05

Une merveille, règles épurées et graphismes d'une éblouissante beauté !!!! Kobayashi assure un max !!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RONIN SAGA
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
RONIN SAGA
by Guillaume [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2024 13:12:50

I own a majority of the production of Kobayashi. While I don't play with all of them, they are always inspiring. This Ronin is a beautiful object, it's inspiring, and I enjoyed it. The trio formed by Kobayashi, Edgarra and Mylydy is a great one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fléaux!
by Dan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2024 11:12:25

I love this rules system and setting. My new favorite game. I don’t know how I didn’t find it earlier? I watched a YouTube review fairly recently, got the pdf, then ordered a hard copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fléaux!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
A Society of Unlikely Gentlemen Quickstart
by Iñaki [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2024 15:15:32

Perfectly minimalist. Really fun setting. Would love to see more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Society of Unlikely Gentlemen Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fléaux!
by Cameron [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2023 17:55:42

Very straight forward, clean system obiviously inspired by The Black Hack, bursting with a baroque dark fantasy flavour. Absolutely wonderful, and easily one of my best rpg purchases in recent times! Hopefully one day a form-fillable character sheet could be available with this purchase, thst would be the icing on the cake. As far as I'm concerned, FLEAUX! deserves top marks, it has captured my imagination more than most trpgs I have recently read. I would love to see some adventures for this game, and perhaps a little more detail for the world setting described.

Definately going to keep an eye on more material by the author Kobayashi (BTW his other work, Black Sword Hack, is really great as well)

I just love FLEAUX!, this indie masterpiece is slick and bursting with creativity. Well worth the purchase !!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fléaux!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fléaux!
by Fernando [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2023 12:24:21

Simple, and cool. One of the best options to play a OSR warhammer version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Black Sword Hack
by Brian [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2023 06:34:59

Simple, elegant yet covers a wide area of ideas and captures the litature it draws from.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Sword Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fléaux!
by Darcy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2023 00:23:58

Kobayashi's Fléaux! is a masterpiece. Beautifully written and exquisitely illustrated. It evokes the grit and grim dark of early Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay, with a world that will leave a metallic taste in your mouth. It's that damn good. Elegant rules, quick combat, AND FIREARMS. The messy, dangerous kind. Fléaux! will satisfy your old school thirst for gold and glory! There will be blood on the streets. Buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fléaux!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fléaux!
by Ivan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2023 18:29:58

I love Kobayashi's works because, besides providing exceptionally beautiful artwork, he always manages to put extra effort on flavor and unique approaches to a game. Fléaux is no different. Decadent, baroque worlds crumble under the weight of existence, while chaos and evil seeks to overthrow what little of civilization is left in the world. Great, great flavors, amazing and plug-and-play rules. What else could you want from a game?

Highly recommended book. You should NOT leave this out :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fléaux!
by Alister S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2023 15:23:29

I backed the kickstarter and had great fun running the included intro mission; "bloodbath" was a very apt name. Everyone had a blast!

Players went from having never heard of the game before to having a completed character that they were surprisingly invested in, all in the space of 30 minutes. The art made for an evocative read that really gets you in the right mindset, and is used liberally to break the rules into more manageable, bite-sized chunks.

Give it a go - I definitely recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fléaux!
by D P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2023 22:52:37

I've been playing RPG for over 30 years, mostly D&D (yep from D&D to 5th edition) and the last few years I've dabbled with alternative OSR games (Dungoen World, Mörk Borg, Knave, Rolemaster, Mausritter, Zweihänder and more), my favourite being Black Hack 2e, but then I discovered FLÈAUX! and I will never look back or for anything more! It is everything I was looking for a TTRPG; mechanics, old-school vibe, rules light, heavy flavour and on top of which the art design and layout is fanstastic! Alexandre et al. have made a brilliant game, and I hope they get the recognition they deserve. If I could give more than 5 stars I would. FLÉAUX! for life!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fléaux!
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2023 09:01:31

I found the Kickstarter of Fleaux! relatively close to the time I had read through The Black Hack which had reawakened my interest in old school play. The Kickstarter had already fired my imagination and I must say, the product itself really delivered on those promises. While the Black Hack feels more like a skeleton of a system, Fleaux! really puts flesh and skin on it mechanically, and rot and scars from a fluff point of view. This little treasure of a book is inspiring and evocative on many levels as everything is trying to bring you in the mindset of the playstyle. The artwork evoces a feeling of grotesque baroque and the character creation as a criminal outcast, wether guilty or not, anchors you in this grimdark atmosphere. And the world building gives you the opportunity to make this game, this setting completely your own.

The book doesn't give you a fleshed out setting though, but good common grounds to build on what is given. I like the idea how the world fleshes itself out by the adventure hooks given after each short geographical description and somehow mirrors the character creation. While your character's story evolves from your crime (and how you dealt with it) as the main background point, the setting develops with the paths you take and the adventures you face.

This old school vibe is also present in the starting adventure, "Bloodbath at Castle Kragstein". It gives you a micro setting and a quick way to introduce the characters to it and a lot of opportunities to explore that setting and its different NPCs. You have everything at your hand to deal with all that happens and all that your players want to do. The adventure plays smoothly and players can engage creatively. The most important point is that the rules never get into your way, just as you would expect from a "Black Hack"-hack.

Someone could dislike, though, that this short evocative style of presentation sometimes leaves a certain vagueness. But I strongly prefer inspirational settings over prescriptive ones. One of my players would have liked a few more random tables for character creation, but he is a strong fan of randomizing his characters.

There are some mechanical changes to The Black Hack 2e as well. Fleaux! deviates from the 6 core abilities of fantasy roleplay and organises their randomisation around minimum and maximum values, which will always lead to a playable character. The talents add a bit of mechanical depth and a lot of fluff to the characters. The best added mechanic is certainly the Willpower mechanic. Which really gives you a risk-and-gain feel of play.

As this game can give you fast action and dark humour in one-shot or short campaign play, I can highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the OSR. Another recommendation would be to get the POD as well, as the book itself is a gorgeous addition to any collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates