DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest - Expanded World
by Collins S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2024 05:54:11

On page 59, why is the list of weapon and armor missing?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
NoteQuest - Expanded World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest
by Collins S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2024 00:42:34

In page 59,where is the Armor table and Weapon table???It was a serious negligence.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
NoteQuest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ronin
by Bruce [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2023 17:56:20

I've enjoyed playing through Ronin, creating my wandering samurai (who has gigantism as his notable trait), wandering from place to place, getting into trouble, making allies and coming up against the villains that have it in for him. It probably took me about 2 hours to play through and I enjoyed it a lot. The encounters were memorable. The fights were tense/epic, particularly the last one which saw my ronin fight against his former master (possibly even his brother as they both had gigantism).... I also enjoyed the villains killing off my poor hapless allies to set the stage for the final duel.

  • I would note that there are some minor errors in the document (translation errors, links to a non-existent table etc). I've attempted to contact the author via the Discussions in order to correct these. But they don't interfere with gameplay.
  • Would definitely recommend Ronin!


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ronin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest
by Maximo [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2023 22:41:09

Going okay so far. My only issue is that I'm having a hard time parsing through the manual, they did a good job with the translation although, a restructure of the instructions to mimic the gameplay's flow would make it a lot easier to reference. I had to write my own version so that I can easily reference what and when I can do something. Other than that, I can really tell it's a system that was made with a lot of care and has a lot of thought out mechanics with the "death is a part of life" attitude with you being able to pick up your previous character's gear. EDIT: I've played it some more and it's really fun! I posted my rewrite on Boardgamegeek. It has clickable links and hopefully gets you up and running faster to play this great game!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
NoteQuest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest
by Jimmy [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2023 03:27:14

Very fun. Simple rules mean you'll be creating a character and playing in no time. There are a few spelling errors and I found a spot or two where a bit if text wasn't translated to English but none of that stops you from understanding or using the rules. It's incredibly easy to hack and change rules too so you can easily make it your own thing. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest
by JF [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2023 08:59:27

Love this setup... I find it preferable to D100 dungeons as the latter can go on for ever before you roll what you need to roll to find what you need to find. NoteQuest is a lot less wandering around an empty dungeon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest
by Ray B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2023 12:47:25

Great game that is pretty fun and worth the download and print.
Really appreciate the oppertunity to try this version before investing in the Expanded World upgrade which is a great deal at $2.
Understand that your character has a limited life even with upgraded gear.
Hopefully character progression and upgrade are implemented in future editions.
The game has plenty of replay, good rules, and indivdual sessions can be quickly run. My favorite thing about the game was generating a map and filling in the log. Please continue the great work!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest - Expanded World
by Colin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2023 15:26:30

Really enjoyable, simple RPG that does just enough to stratch that itch. Hoping it gets expanded and fleshed out a little more in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NoteQuest - Expanded World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest
by Gray M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2023 14:16:55

This was the first solo TRPG I've ever played and I am thrilled. Even when I died, I had so much fun! Today I also bought the "Expanded World" version which I immediately fell in love with as well as it's so well thought out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NoteQuest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
NoteQuest - Expanded World
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2022 22:41:18

Great game. Well worth the price and MUCH more.

My kid can't get enough of it.

There is a ton of variety.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NoteQuest - Expanded World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ronin
by Paul J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2022 15:35:56

Great solo game, I have played afew times and each has been different not only because of the tables but how you are encourage to stitch the scenes together. I even use the search table as a means to escape which worked fine. would recomend super game, cheers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ronin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ronin
by Dan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2022 20:31:55

Fun little solo experience. I find that solo games tip somewhere on a "game" vs. "guided journaling experience" scale and I'd put this pretty solidly on the "game" side. You could journal your experience if you wanted to but you don't need to and the game is going to move along without you having to be at all creative to advance the story. Maybe the downside to that is that you're going to be on rails, so if you want to free roam you're going to have to kind of hack it in between game encounters. Just depends on what you're looking for from a solo experience. I did find my enjoyment was enhanced by taking a little extra time to envision the scenes the game was putting in front of me and to take advantage of some of the "fluff" that the game offers, but it's also something you could just roll your way straight through and still have an interesting experience. I've never had much interest in either anime or Japanese history but this made me want to research shoguns a bit, so bonus there too.

To be honest my first playthrough ended in kind of a stalemate situation where (if I was interpreting the rules correctly) I could not die but yet I was also stuck needing a series of improbable rolls to proceed which, technically, I eventually would have made if I kept trying long enough but it felt a little unsatisfying so my character just gave it up. I guess if I had one criticism it's that... I wouldn't mind if the game were just a little more lethal so there was more dramatic weight behind the encounters, but obviously with a solo game that's someting you can adjust to your own taste. I'm just one of those weird people who gets physically uncomfortable when I start making up my own rules, I guess I just don't like to color outside the lines so I'm reviewing it as written.

That being said, it's well written, easy to understand, the art is attractive. All in all a great package. I used PWYW to try it out, and definitely went back and purchased it, I for sure got my money's worth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Ronin
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2022 17:01:39

really enjoyed the game, pretty easy to play through even for somebody new to solo rpgs. great introduction for people new to the market



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Ronin
by Johan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2022 02:51:47

This is a very cool little solo RPG that really captures the wandering samurai genre of TV and cinema. While I think mechanically, it needs one or two more things to make it a complete experience, as it is now it does enough and has enough content to keep you entertained for hours. Really simple to learn and easy to get going too, even if you're a total solo RPG noobie.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Ronin
by Melvin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2022 03:09:49

An excellent Solo RPG gem that doesn't require efforts to enjoy (no need to journal or with Solo RPG experience) One of the best in the Soloist realm. I also have a gameplay / review video on Youtube if anyone is interested in how it works.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates