DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Gang Wars - Grimdark Future Firefight Expansion
by Gasp M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 05:01:26

Great content, it's packed with cool stuff and rules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gang Wars - Grimdark Future Firefight Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Stephan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2024 15:17:05

Fun Setting It feels like a mix of Rimworld and Star Wars :) The Radiance also makes it a great crossover setting. It would also be interesting to learn about other Sectors.

4 out of 5 stars only because the descriptions repeat themselves in places. The authors revisit the human history what feels like three times.

The history of the elves, orcs and dwarfs is well told but a bit too superficial. Describing individual clans would have added more depth - and inspiration for custom lists :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimdark Future World Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Age of Fantasy - Advanced Rulebook
by Dennis [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2024 00:48:41

Fast to learn, pretty well balanced.

Ran the game for ten to fourteen years old players, the grabbed the gist very quickly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Fantasy - Advanced Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Alfredo [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2024 07:25:57

Great introduction to Grimdark, a lot of world building not only about war and factions but life in general. Hyped for the fantasy one.

(It's not a 5 stars just because sometimes it repeat itself, lowering the engagement when reading.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimdark Future World Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Kevin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2024 18:03:35

I enjoyed this and do not regret buying it but I do have a few issues with it. This is more of a teaser, sampler than covering anything in deapth. I don't think it focused enough on the setting itself and does vear off into some genericish Space Opera. I do love me some Space Opera and there are some good ideas in there but very few things feel developed enough. There is good art and some interesting ideas but this feels a little lacking and makes me want something with more substance.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Michal K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2024 17:49:51

I really like the World Book. It apperes to me as not very "Grimdark", however its not a problem for me, I prefer that there is more hope then lets say 40k universe. However If the publisher intended it to be grimdark, I think they should show it a little bit more in an updated version.

The pictures are very beutifull and colorfull, and the story is interesting. I like especially the story of the Elves, Dwarfs and Orcs, also the pictures of the Elves. It inspired me to start colecting a new army (the HF Elves).

I can recomend it to any OPR fan, who is interested in the lore of the Grimdark Future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Bozz [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2024 17:44:51

Great, but more space on the Sirius Sector and less on the general Galaxy would have been good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future: Firefight - Advanced Rulebook
by Rob [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2024 17:03:47

Fantastic rules set that boils down 40K rules into an easily playable game, while still allowing the various factions to play differently from each other. OPR is developing its own unique factions, and provides plenty of lists that are clearly based off GW factions as well as Mantic Games' sci Fi armies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimdark Future: Firefight - Advanced Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Charles [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2024 09:22:36

TL/DR: Great stories, great artwork, great trove of sometimes unpolished world-building ideas.

Pros:

  1. The artwork is phenomenal. Seriously I spent quite a bit of time just staring and looking at the awesome details that the skilled artists put into this.
  2. The short stories and little story excerpts are exceptional--I wanted a lot more of those. To be honest I would get a "Grimdark Future Stories" book in a heartbeat if they were like the ones in here.
  3. I enjoyed the world-building that can lend to narrative Grimdark Future gameplay. The faction-specific characters and heroes were great to read about. Note: I'd be interested for sure if there was ever a Grimdark Future RPG.

Cons:

  1. The world building overall felt like a multitude of brain-storming ideas that were squished together incongruently.
  2. Nearly half of the content was on the expanded galaxy outside of the war-torn Sirius Sector which didn't feel so grim or dark. I enjoyed reading this expanded setting info, but it did feel like it trivialized the Grimdark Future game-related elements.
  3. There were a lot of ambiguous summaries, such as "some worlds" and "some populated systems", which I think unintentionally made some elements feel almost generic.

Summary: I will be revisiting this book for the stories and artwork, as well as perhaps having faction heroes show up on the tabletop battlefield. I would liked to have seen more focus on how everything relates to the primary factions and their stories instead of setting generalizations, but I look forward to more content in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimdark Future World Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2024 16:32:22

I would like to start this review by considering the benefits of lore in a war game. Lore increases your connection to your army by giving you the option of making something thematic based on the setting of your game as well as context for your army. Lore also can inspire you to create homebrews and kitbashes for your army based on what you know and give you an idea of where your army stands in the narrative and what they are looking to accomplish. Most importantly I think lore creates restraints on your imagination by restrincting you to create something in line with what the setting is and through restrictions the imagination thrives the most. Of course lore can be ignored and you can do what you will but I would assume if you are reading a review for a lore book you are also hoping to follow it so with that said on to the review.

The first 3rd of the book goes into the history of both humanity and the Sirius Sector where the setting takes place. The majority of the information can be found through the Army Forge summarys and new faction section on the One Page Rules website however it does a great job of streamlining it into a coherent narrative instead of creating a crazy board with strings to work it out. To top it off it includes a fantastic map of the Sector including which areas of the Sector are considered territory of which faction. Overall a fantastic read.

The next 3rd is where we start to run into issues as we start to expand to the wider galaxy including currency, society and psychic abilities. To summarise this section in one word I would say 'vague'. You will find yourself often reading terms such as "some factions" without specifying if this is one of the playable factions or one of the apparent many others that exist within the wider galaxy. We are revealed that travel is easily possible to the wider galaxy. We are shown many images of bizarre alien races without any context of who they are which feels especially dissapointing when so few art exists for the models that currently exist within the model range, certainly an unusual choice for the art budget. We hear stories of scavengers, merchants and mercaries but again nothing about who these could be. If it could apply to any race then what makes my chosen faction different from the next players? How could this information be relevant when putting your plastic / resin on the table? This mostly feels like it would apply to someone who perhaps wanted to start an RPG playing an invented alien within the setting as opposed to a wargamer or perhaps someone who wanted to create a entirely new faction in Army Forge Studio and less someone who wanted to create a unique spin on an existing faction.

The final part of the book goes deeper into the areas of the galaxy and at this point you must ask yourself a simple question, what makes the Sirus Sector the focal point of the setting, why are our factions territories so small when galactic travel is so simple. Our factions have been relegated to a tiny sector despite traveling across and integrating within a galaxy of potentially infinite nameless sentient life forms.

So in summary when looking at this world book would I say it accomplishes it's purpose of adding lore that benefits us, honestly I can't say it does. It has failed to create any limitations to your imagingation or inspire you to do anything unique that you could not have also been inspired to do without picking up this book up. Hopefully when the faction books are released it will fix this issue and any building narrative (of which none are mentioned that are current within this book) will be more focused and constrained to the Sirius Sector and the races we put on the table.

This book has me very concerned for the upcoming world book for Age of Fantasy. Tyria is a much smaller settings and the playable factions have a much more interconnected history to that of Grimdark Future and diving into the current state of Tyria is something I was very much looking forward to but now I'm afraid that I will be purchasing a book which only covers a 3rd of the primary setting and will then go into vague villages of unknown races and infinite realms that can be travelled to that make Tyria and the playable faction within irrelevent. What use is a map of Tyria if the majority of my faction spend their time not on it? I truly hope that is not the case.

So to finish this review I would say that if this book was a 3rd of the price and only included the first 3rd of the book I would absolutely recommend it to anyone interested in Grimdark Future but in it's current state I simply can't.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Jacob [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2024 16:39:21

This book is the lore book for the One Page Rules setting for Grimdark Future and Firefight. As a lore book it is short, but gets the basic setting details across. It starts with a history of humanity in the era of space colonisation, civil war, and how humans ended up in the Sirius sector, the game's setting. From there it gives an overview of the sector before humanity's arrival, and the big event that led to the changes in the balance of power, new factions from within the sector, and humanity's accidental appearance.

For a while, One Page Rules has had a reputation of a knockoff, basically NOTwarhammer40k. This book is full of content that distinguishes One Page Rules from the thing that inspired it. It is much more a space opera with an entropic slide to it, than the headfirst dive into madness that is warhammer.

The book has good art. The explanations of the state of the setting are clear enough to give you understanding of what can be expected, vague enough to give you flexibility to tell your own stories. The one thing I feel is lacking is layout. The book could have done better by giving a distinct overview of each faction, as it currently discusses a faction only in relation to the factions it either is allied to or opposed by. I feel inspired to play a game in this setting, but not drawn to any one faction to really make my own.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Alceu P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2024 19:55:38

It's great to see OnePageRules taking its own path. The Grimdark Future's World Book is a glimpse into the Sirius sector, where the action of Grimdark Future, GF Firefight, and Warships takes place; a macrocosm where various alien races intersect and clash. The book provides an overview of human history since the rise of The Founder and the civil war that dragged refugees to the Sirius sector. It addresses the specificities of this sector and gives a brief description of several of its locations. The book is beautifully illustrated by very talented artists, and it's interesting to see how this universe presents various approach possibilities: there are the more "grimdark" factions like the blessed sisters, mechanical cult, and havoc brothers; the "sci-fi" factions like the human defense force and the DAO Union; and the space fantasy-oriented factions like orcs, elves, and dwarves. However, the book's flaw is not adequately addressing these factions; for example, the blessed sisters and battle brothers are extremely important during the civil war but are considered only a subset of humans, while other factions get entries in the Sirius sector's race roster. There is also a complete absence of highlighting daemons. Despite this, it's a good backdrop for OPR, and I hope this universe continues to evolve.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Jordan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2024 14:18:36

A great birds-eye view of the setting, and there's some great art in here as well. I'm eagerly awaiting the faction books, and the same books for AOF!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by Ross [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2024 13:56:54

Very impressed with the quality of this book. The art is incredible, and the short descriptions of different worlds in the Sirius sector and beyond really add life to the universe. Anyone who enjoys Grimdark Future or just sci-fi universes in general should pick this book up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Grimdark Future World Book
by matt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2024 11:15:26

Fantastic. Love it. It’s very refreshing and great overall intro to the setting. Looking forward to more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates