DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Lost and Found: a travel scenario for Call of Cthulhu
by Peter [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2024 05:25:38

A cracking little scenario that can be played on its own or as part of a larger campaign (for which advice is given). I had the pleasure of playtesting it with the author and it was a blast!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost and Found: a travel scenario for Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Pavel Date Added: 06/16/2024 01:21:29

Lots of typos and the fillable character sheets are fundamentally broken. This wasn't proofread or checked for bugs.

Otherwise, I like it. I just wish it wasn't released haphazardly and without all of the books that it references in its text.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ruins of Bonn Kanach
by Gary [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 19:19:08

This scenario is on the lower end of acceptability. I was able to use it without too much difficulty and the players enjoyed the session.

The Good: The opening is strong. The map of Stone Cross is well appreciated; especially since the follow-on scenarios use the village. Lauren Whitemane is an interesting enough character. The initial encounter is very clever and plays well to the man-beast dynamic in the valley.

The maps of the ruin interiors are functionally useful, but are lacking in detail. These maps would reasonably fit into an adventure written in the 1970s or 1980s, but are lacking for a modern audience. Most of the tactical maps fit well into the VTT environment and the scaling was reasonable. The map for the citadel, however, is way too big.

The area descriptions underneath the arena are boring. The GM is supposed to randomly generate the contents of the room and any treasures that can be found. The randomly generated room contents are mostly one-line entries like "Large pile of firewood." This might have been acceptable in the 1970s, but I expect far more from a scenario writer in the 2020s.

Spoilers Follow:

There's a dangerous predator that lairs inside the arena. However, the location of the lair is not specified. There is no description of the lair and no associated treasure with the lair. There are several areas specifically detailed within the arena, but strangely this area isn't detailed.

The cliff tombs are boring. Each tomb has a small random chance of an encounter and minor treasure. It's way too repetitive and seems to exist simply to chew up time. Only one of the tombs is interesting. On the other hand, it did seem realistic that the tombs were looted by other adventurers long before the PCs show up. It makes sense, but it's not interesting.

The bugheads were an interesting inclusion in the scenario. There are some interesting non-combat options available here.

I chose not to present the aquifer to my PCs. While there are some room descriptions, the entire area is essentially bereft of interesting content.

The citadel is another large area similar to the arena. It has several areas described in some detail. But the rest is randomly rolled room contents, creatures, and treasure. This is very disappointing.

Finally, the scenario indicates the canopic jars are a key element to some master plot in Beast Valley. But no reference is made in part 2 of the campaign (Velhara's Mirror). The promised part 3 has never been released (as of June 2024).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Bonn Kanach
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Chimes in the Dark: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario
by Kat [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 17:39:07

Very interesting concept with a lot less of a known creature of the mythos. I run for a very seasoned group of players who know a lot about the mythos, so this definitely kept them on their toes! fantastic game, definitely a fun thing to run in the Old West setting! Only thing I would say is to TW your players for possible eye horror!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chimes in the Dark: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blight at Gold Bluff
by Kat [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 17:34:43

It's a super great book! This has a lot of interesting content, and comes with a few handouts! It comes with some good world-building that allows for a really well-thought-out environment! My group had a great time playing through this and they enjoyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blight at Gold Bluff
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Blair M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 15:50:09

I found that the reboot of the setting in 7th Sea 2nd edition was very well done and interesting. The inclusion of more inspirations from other regions of the world was nicely done as was the rebalancing of how magic works in setting. The mechanics of the 2nd edition, however, just did not click with the group that I play with. We found that it the framework of the gameplay and rules was too light in places we wanted more structure and that it involved a lot of additional work for the person running the game. I know that many people have enjoyed the system, so I would just suggest that you do a little research about it before buying the game if your intent is to run the game with its own system.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:08
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:08
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:08
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:08
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:08
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:07
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:07
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:06
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:11:06
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2347 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates