DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Rulebook
by Lee [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2024 20:40:49

A wonderful game! I love the way the game mechanics themselves help guide the players in their courses. The magic feels exciting, powerful, and dangerous. The combat is tense and can turn so quick. The world is beautiful and harsh and strange and glorious. It's a setting unlike any other I've delved into in TTRPGs and I keep coming back for more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cloud Empress: Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Rulebook
by J C [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2024 16:24:29

I particularly like Dying-Earth-style far future science fantasy settings, and this one happens to be based off of my favorite story in that vein: Miyazaki's Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. So I was hugely predisposed to like the setting.

And watt delivers so well on making the flavor so close to Nausicaa while still making this world entirely their own. The magic system is chef's kiss, and feels fully integrated with the world and it's economies, politics, etc. The tables that determine character's gear and immediate previous occupations are so juicy. Everything comes together to paint a unified and rich whole world.

Numenera, the main science fantasy system designed for this kind of game, often leaves me cold because there's not enough coherent world vibes / flavor. It makes it open for the GM to insert more of their own, but I think the GM can always do that. I prefer settings / games that come with a good, viable, unique flavor of their own, which I can always remix as needed. Something like Ultraviolet Grasslands is the gold standard for this, to my mind (though it's mechanic underpinnings are severely lacking). Cloud Empress doesn't quite match something like UVG, being perhaps the silver to its gold medal, but damn, it's still really good. An Olympic silver medalist is still the second best athlete in a sport in the world.

My only complaint is that the system is a direct and often unchanged hack of Mothership. Although the lethality and puzzling darkness of the setting do fit somewhat fit the rules of Mothership, other pieces of Mothership that were specifically designed for horror do not. I think if a few more independent mechanical design decisions were made the rules would match the setting much better. Dark and gritty but not explicitly and always horror, per se. Make it "inspired by Mothership" rather than "a hack of Mothership", and some of the rules systems would have just flowed better (and I think the openness of the Mothership 3rd party license would have still been app, which is almost certainly part of why it is a hack of Mothership). But that minor quibble is not enough to knock it down from 5 to 4 stars.

I wholeheartedly recommend this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Last Voyage of the Bean Barge
by J C [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2024 10:32:05

It runs so well. I can't emphasize how much it gives the GM to help keep and maintain the pace. The variety of the interesting mysteries of various NPCs on the ship, as well the the intrinsic and escalating danger of the environment, chef's kiss. It even has a real-life timer so you can keep the action flowing and ensure a single session playtime. Truly one of the only "one-shots" that actually delivers on that premise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cloud Empress: Last Voyage of the Bean Barge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Land of Cicadas
by J C [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2024 10:19:17

A fantastic hexcrawl sandbox full of wonderful powderkeg situations for enterprising adventurers to ignite, exploding wild adventure all over everyone.

The various powerful beings and factions the players can run into encompass a delightful gamut of weird and idiosyncratic far future life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cloud Empress: Land of Cicadas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Year One Adventure Bundle
by J C [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2024 09:53:51

These are so flavorful and pocket-sized, it is wonderful, and they can easily be dropping into all sorts of far future settings. My only reticence it that the 6-page length of most of them feels just a tad too pocket-sized. Part of me really wishes they could all have been 10 pages, like Last Voyage of the Bean Barge, to have just a little more room to flesh themselves out. But the request that there should have been more of this good thing is a good review in and of itself.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cloud Empress: Year One Adventure Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Rulebook
by Ripley [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2023 13:06:49

One of my absolute favorite game systems. It takes the core of Mothership and builds around it a quick and dirty game that oozes with personality. Every class, every item, every little table tells you tidbits about a super unique take on the apocalypse, blending together the best of science fiction and fantasy tropes (and one of my favorite ghibli movies). This + the adventures watt and the rest of the community has been coming out with is worth months and months of content.

The game system isn't super crunchy, but it takes time to voice all of the little details that the crunch-loving part of me craves. Definitely easy as a system to jump into, but the depth (and mystery!) of the world creates a lot for an weathered ttrpg fan to dig into.

(d100 system, 4 classes, each with 10 subtypes. Quickly built characters, easily made within 5ish min if you wanna rush a bit. This helps since there's a lot of weird and gruesome ways for characters to suddenly... become unplayable :P)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cloud Empress: Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Rulebook
by Kurt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2023 12:56:59

Really really cool setting, and a neat update to Mothership rules with e.g. a slightly different take on stress mechanics!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Rulebook
by Pantelis [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2023 09:28:49

an interesting take and a very imaginative work. looking forward to running some mothership with my players this month and it'd be a good opportunity to bring this out



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cloud Empress: Rulebook
by Thomas [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2023 02:11:27

It is an amazing book, so imaginative, framed with beautiful and awesome art. I played a few sessions already, and they had everything I needed and wanted in a tabletop rpg. Definitely worth getting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hot Stuff on Shore Leave
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2022 00:18:25

A thought provoking module of melancholy with many provocative prompts. The questions I was asked about my character brought out deep feelings about why I was adventuring in a horror game and why my character would even get out of the bed in the morning, knowing what lies ahead. I am still thinking about it. This is a superior solo gaming product, a superior Mothership product, a superior creation and I cannot wait to see what you develop next. Make no mistake: Hot stuff on Shore Leave would work well for groups. The book self-identifies as queer friendly, and it is. It is also human friendly. Android friendly. Deeply compassinate. I enjoyed the rules for souvenir hot sauce, too. Ha ha ha.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hot Stuff on Shore Leave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates