DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Corrupted Classes (5E)
by Andy [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2024 00:59:10

I received this compendium of player options as part of the Legendary Games anniversary bundle and upon reading it I feel the need to warn against a purchase.

The subclasses are confusing to read, mixing in terms and rules wording from other games/editions, and misapprehending the rules of 5th edition (Spell level doesn't affect the difficulty of the saving throw in 5E! No divination effect can determine a creature's alignment, only its type). There's also a pervasive tendency to switch between using the name of the class and random pronouns in class features instead of the consistent use of 'you' to refer to the player character.

Some of the text appears to contradict itself, such as the Black Mage's 'Horrible and Flexible Magics' Feature: The first sentence allows the wizard to use Constitution instead of the normal Ability score for a saving throw, but the example given implies that they automatically use Constitution if it's higher (or becomes higher, such as when the wizard is affected by a Feeblemind spell).

The book also contains a number of feats, items, and backgrounds which I have not had time to peruse.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Corrupted Classes (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Witches
by Miłosz [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2024 06:15:59

Has balance problems as almost all of legendary classes do, but overall its a solid and simply a pleasant product. Expands both familiar and patrons to become a true signature of a witch instead of simply existing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mechanical Monsters (5E) Foundry Module
by Paul [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2024 06:01:51

Monsters seem great statblock-wise and the price is right, but the art in this Foundry module is unfortunately broken, so it doesn't display on any of the creatures. I rate their other content well but I can't in good conscience recommend people buy this one until the issue is fixed.

EDIT: The issue with the artwork has been fixed, so I'm happy to update my review to 5 stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanical Monsters (5E) Foundry Module
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Spiritualists
by Miłosz [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2024 12:58:31

So I bought this book as a fuel for my own spiritualist rework - for that purpose it was amazing. The idea of turning spiritualist into a talent class and giving it unique channel-like ability seamlessly blends class more into necromancer-wanabe. Reworked phantom progression makes him stand out when compared to eidolon and animal companion.

Problem comes if somebody wants to use this book as written as there are just too many both balance and editorial mistakes. Infinite money printer possession of items and some talents loosing too much due to following base spiritualist. Several things copy-pasted (which is a good thing as it reduces amount of rules confusion due to it being what is in base game, but...) multiple times, or with errors of other class, or giving things that dont work on spiritualist due to lack of said feature.

So yeah. Overall I am satisfied with a product but probably not in the intended way.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Spiritualists
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fey and Forest Classes (5E)
by Joseph [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2024 17:12:57

James' review has done a fine job of documenting the actual contents of this product, so I'll just add my own experiences using it.

I consider this a great addition to any campaign or setting heavily involving fey themes. The core material of 5e certainly touches on fey and forest themes, but lacks breadth and some of the core subclasses with fey connections are thematically shallow. These are very evocative. I especially like the Knight-Surgeon, which has a general Arthurian feel rather than fey/forest specifically, and the Black Woods patron for Warlocks is absolutely rife with plot hooks.

I do recommend picking this up. If you're just looking to expand your catalogue of player options, wait until a sale or bundle, but if you're specifically running a very fey themed game it's worth the price.

Now to hope there'll be a Roll20 compatible compilation of this and the other Fey offerings from Legendary Games!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fey and Forest Classes (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Second Class Guides: Monks
by Stuart [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2023 16:54:25

Despite what the description says, there are no new options for the monk. All it is is a class review like you can find for free all over the internet.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Second Class Guides: Monks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Trail of the Apprentice Adventure Path (5E)
by Jesse S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2023 01:14:21

I got this book as a discounted bundle of holding promo. TLDR: Very creative story with amateur-hour proofreading.

First, the positive: the story is just what an early level adventure path should be! The path introduces gradually more complicated game mechanics and DM/player options, while retaining a simple plot with clear objectives. The chapters have clear arcs of action and pause, with plenty of options for improvising. The artwork and maps look professional and cool, and mostly make sense. I look forward to run this path for a group of young people in my family.

However, the editing is at the level of a first draft. IDK if they uploaded the wrong version, but it is loaded with typos and errors. Every single page number reference is incorrect. There are lots of stray words, nonsense/random commas, and run-on sentences. Without really looking or trying, I find on average 1 error or typo per page. Most of ther grammar and spelling errors are pretty minor, but SO many!

A few examples: p. 56 - "Refer to page 73 (room 2B-1) for a description of what the PCs find there." - nope, not there. p. 85 - "The rules for peace-bonding are found in the sidebar on page 6." - nope. There is a sidebar, but on a different page. p. 99 - "Grunhild's statistics can be found on page 34." - nope, I have not yet found her stat block/page.

I have not played it yet, so I don't know if there are game errors. So far I have only read Trail of the Apprentice, so I don't know if the other books are this poorly edited (hope not).

For the story, I would give it 5 stars, but they forgot to have it proofread or error checked. If I had paid full price, or bought the paper book, I would be super bummed. For the price I paid, meh whatever the story is still great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trail of the Apprentice Adventure Path (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Prestige
by B C C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2023 10:39:43

AA++!! Brilliant design work by Margherita. She consistently manages to create a whole panopoly of game mechanic options that really breathe a breath of fresh air into PF1's prestige classes. That's no easy feat. If Endzeitgeist was still posting critiques, I bet he'd love this book. The game mechanics are high concept, just the right amount of complexity, balanced for easy plug-&-play with both Paizo and 3PP products ... and fun, fun, fun! This book is going to be in heavy rotation in my group's tabletop game. I can't wait for Legendary to publish more of her work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Prestige
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Prestige
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2023 16:55:25

This book is great. It opens up with a homerun by giving us a customizeable bloodline disciple option for the dragon disciple prestige class. Not only do they do the homework on a Celestial and Elemental bloodline, but they give us guidance on how to do the rest of them. I've been wanting this since Pathfinder first came out. Major win. Honestly, I'd have paid the 9.99 for just that alone. But there's more.

We then get a shapemaster prestige class, which is cool. But then we get over 10 prestige class archetypes. That's right, kiddos. Archetypes for prestige classes. Most of these focus on making the prestige classes more valid for different base classes, but it's even better than it sounds.

Next, we get some favored class bonuses for prestige classes. The list is long and varied. Not sure how they decided on which prestige classes made the cut, but there's plenty.

Then we have mythic prestige class features. To those unfamiliar with mythic stuff outside of Paizo exclusive content, it's class features that get a power boost if you pick it with your mythic options. Simple concept, good execution. I like what I see. Again, we get a ton of them here.

Finally, we get to the feats. Sticking with the Legendary Prestige theme, they're here to make your prestige classes extra attractive. Take Eldrtich Warden. This feat allows an arcane casting elf to get some cool things going on as they progress as a Nature Warden prestige class character, such as advancing arcane casting instead of divine...WITH icing on top so it isn't just a mere substitute.

We get some feats that are specifically for characters with prestige classes. I'm not going to lie, Continued Studies made me remember what it's like to fall in love. For players who want to prestige class their characters, but REALLY like a class ability that won't get advanced...get this book.

Thought that was entirely it? Nope, we then get mythic versions of a lot of feats. Some from this book and some from other sources, but they're all especially tasty. The afore mentioned Continued Studies? Oh, baby. Chantilly Lace, that pretty face, you know what I like.

Overall, this book is worth much more than the asking price. You get a ton of content that's also new and refreshing. Rare enough for 20 odd years of 3.x/p products. There's a few times where book references weren't formatted and there's the lack of bookmarks, but that's not enough to detract from the rest of the awesome. Get this book if you still play Pathfinder. The only regret you'll have is that you didn't have it sooner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Druids
by Jeremy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2023 15:07:12

Cool ideas for turning the druid into something more customizable, based on choosing a Circle (kind of like a Domain) and a Bond (where you can get Wildshape, Animal Companion, or some other options).

Unfortunately, I keep encountering instances of bad editing: text that seems to be missing, text that was probably from an earlier draft of the ability, words that seem to have had their positions swapped in a sentence. I don't really feel like trying to finish reading until at least one update.

UPDATE: Errata has been released, though not incorporated into the document itself. With this, the product rises to passable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Druids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Investigators
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2023 21:36:33

I'm a big fan of the legendary classes series. I'll give a quick overview of this one as somebody who hasn't played it yet, but look forward to in the future. When the investigator came out several years ago, I didn't really care for it. I know some liked it, but it wasn't really for me. In a book of hybrid classes, it felt very much like an alternate take on the alchemist, but slightly different. Which may not be a fair comparison because I was turned off enough to not play it.

Then we got this bad boy. It has the familiar talent structure. Cool. I'm a fan of those. It's a skill monkey class. Which is always a plus. It's got some intriguing class features. That's all fine and good. But what's this? Course of study?

Wait. Stop the bus.

Okay, this is where the weird and fun explodes in our collective faces like that one can of coke you forgot you dropped. But let's back up a second before we dive right in. This table here before we get into the specifics on magic... spells per day on one side, and spells known/prepared on the other. Arcanist style spellcasting? This is my favorite type of spellcasting, so here's what victory looks like. Spellcasting goes up to 5th level spells. Okay, that's weird, but I like it.

Okay, let's look at the spell list. Oh my dear sweet brother Numpsay! We get access to different spell LISTS depending on which Course of Study we pick? I can't find my socks because they got blown off. There's arcane, divine, divine (nature), extracts, and occult. That's a lot of very different kinds of invesigators that spontaneously formed in my skull and they're clawing their way out like somekind of Lovecraftian love child.

As I said, your Course of Study gives you your source of spell list, but that's not it. They give you a decent spread of abilities at different levels. There's almost 20 studies and that means you've got options. Some even let you pick any of those power sources, like the ballistics study! Gun-mage, baby.

Then you've got some new talents. Cool. Some new archetypes. That's cool, too. Non-race specific favored class bonuses...I love those. More feats. Just two, but that's plenty. Why? Because you they added two pages on addictions to flesh out one of those feats. What does an addiction mean in this context? It means you get a list of boons you get bonuses from, and possibly withdrawl drawbacks. If you've seen the deific obedience stuff, it'll look familiar.

Anways, this is a big book that is VERY dense with information. But it's worth it. You get an interesting class that takes an interesting concept and then says, "think bigger!" It does this quite successfully and I highly recommend it.

5 stars, easy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Investigators
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Druids
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2023 20:50:12

Finally got around to reading and playing around with this entry. I gotta say that I loved it. I was never a fan of the druid class. Since back in the 00's, it was known as a powerhouse, but never quite grabbed me. It could do everything. Full casting, decent buffing, and with wildshape, they could be nastier than most other frontline characters. Then you had the animal companion. Pouncing dire tigers and grapple bears, oh my. Pathfinder took a bit of a step in the right direction, but it still felt off, and honestly all druids still felt kinda samey and boring.

Then, we got this.

I was blown away. They took the boring old class and revamped it with options all over the place. Firstly, you get to pick a circle. This helps set a framework for what kind of druid you are. Healing, blasting, summoning...you get the picture. You get some granted powers and bonus spells, similar to a domain or bloodline (and oddly enough, like a halfway point between the two, mechanically). They also come with talents specific for those circles. And you get plenty of options for talents from the class itself! There's so many good ones that it's almost hard to pick all you want by the time you hit level 20.

Finally, you get bonds. Just a few options here, but they're potent. Here's where you can choose whether you want to wildshape or have an animal companion. Or two other new and interesting choices (extracts and sacred sites). Did I mention these also have talent options? More things to make your druid unique and set apart. Awesome!

There's also a few fun looking archetypes that can drastically change how the class is played. From changing your casting ability score to making you into a nice parallel to a dracon blooded sorcerer, there's enough options to keep it cool.

Like a lot of other legendary classes, they have added more favored class bonuses than the standard +1 hp/+1 skill point blah, blah blah. And they aren't race specific, so that's good. Remember how I said the talents were so great you couldn't get enough of them? Well, here's a way to get more.

Over all, I loved it. They took a class I disliked and found boring, and made me excited to try their different takes on it. Which is quite impressive. Fans of the old CoDzilla style druid might not be as happy, but you can't please everybody. As somebody who finds the perfect blance for a class in the majority of the mid BAB 6th level spellcasters, this feels RIGHT. Sure it might give up a small smidgen of power but your character gets a soul, something that makes them unique and different, to set them apart. In my 22+years of gaming, taking your character from being a one-person party to being a valuable and rememberable part of the party is worth it. Get this book. While you're at it, get the Legendary Companions, too. Sure, you don't NEED it, but c'mon, you know you'll want it immediately after.

5 stars, all the way. Nat 20 with a confirmed critical hit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Druids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Classes: Sword and Fist
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2023 18:43:44

This work is a convienent one-stop-shop for several books combined together. Barbarian, brawler, cavalier, fighter, gunslinger, monk, samurai, and swashbuckler...they're all here. With that Legendary flourish that you have come to love. The mechanics are all very well done and there's no confusion from how the things are worded. The classes within have already been reviewed by other people elsewhere, so I'll just say that I like them and leave it at that. I prefer them over the standard classes and use them in my home games. Having them all together makes it a breeze and I'd recommend it to anybody who took the plunge into Pathfinder to begin with. The game isn't just alive, it thrives. And this ensures it'll continue to do so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Classes: Sword and Fist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Witches
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2023 18:27:48

This class has been redesigned very well. It uses the same awesome arcanist style spellcasting that, to me anyways, just makes much more sense from a game perspective. It has pretty cool options for familiars, which is cool. You can't have a fun witch without a fun familiar. Without getting too deep into the mechanics, they also gave depth to the patron a witch gets by making them rather similar to a sorcerer's bloodline. Some even change them to psychic spellcasters or mid level spellcasting with higher base attack bonuses. And it all works together. Very well done and worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Companions
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2023 18:13:09

It's great. What could make it even better? The one complaint I have with a lot of the Legendary series: I'd like to see more support between the books. I have purchased a huge chunk of the series, and the classes are all well done and I prefer them to the standard Pathfinder classes. Seeing cross-product support would be great, especially here. That being said, this is still a great book and worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Companions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 554 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates