DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000 Roleplay: Imperium Maledictum Core Rulebook
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 17:19:46

I have no doubts that Imperium Maledictum is the Warhammer 40,000 game that I've been waiting an awful long time for. It does a great job as a "spiritual successor" to Dark Heresy and improves on it in ways that doubles down on the investigative angle in a terrifyingly corrupt Imperium that makes one wonder how the entire thing is still somehow operational given that it's held together by duct tape and prayers to the God-Emperor of Mankind.

Mechanically, the game stands out in terms of supporting careful and clever investigation thanks to the Superiority mechanics which rewards finding things with actual advantage in an confrontation. Add the Faction and Influence bits and you get a game where you are constantly favor trading with a host of groups that have their own agendas.

Setting wise, the Macharian Sector is HUGE, and a masterwork of building a setting where every planet is enough to kick off a full campaign. The writing team clearly brought their best work to the table and I applaud them for the effort.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention how pretty the book is, in the bleak and dire Warhammer 40,000 sort of way. Cubicle 7 has never failed in terms of artwork for their Warhammer RPGs and Imperium Maledictum is one of the better ones. The layout is also easy to read and the tables are easy to reference. Having page references built into the margins helps a ton as well.

Imperium Maledictum is a very, VERY easy recommendation for anyone who enjoys Warhammer 40,000 from a more human angle. Sure you won't be a Space Marine here, nor will you be going into fistfights with the Orks, but if you're looking to do some good old Eisenhorn-style adventuring while putting few bolt pistol shells into the skulls of a heretic, you'll find it right here.

This is a portion of a larger Let's Study series of my blog that goes through the various sections of the book. If you're interested, you can find it here:

https://philgamer.wordpress.com/category/imperium-maledictum/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer 40,000 Roleplay: Imperium Maledictum Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Corsairs of Captain Flariel
by Zekiel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 02:23:16

I nice little pdf providing details for a band of Dark Elf Corsairs with which to challenge your PCs. As with previous similar publications there is some nice background information (which helpfully considers how much inhabitants of the Old World are likely to know about Dark Elves), plus templates for seaborne pirates and raiders, and the key NPCs of this band. We also get four Dark Magic spells (nice) and some sample encounters with the Corsairs.

I really like that the main NPCs are given different goals, and there is the possibility here that canny players might play one of them off against the others. This opens up social play as well as straightforward combat, which is a really nice touch. There's even a slave NPC here, who PCs might be able to help in staging a mutiny.

All in all - very much recommended if you like Dark Elves, or just want an interesting, detailed adversary for a coastal or sea area of the Old World.

For a more in-depth review see: https://illmetbymorrslieb.wordpress.com/2024/06/12/review-the-corsairs-of-captain-flariel/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Corsairs of Captain Flariel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Role Play: The Emperor's Wrath
by Zekiel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2024 10:02:04

A very decent short adventure with the feel of a war film, which sees the PCs dispatched to track down a missing Steam Tank. It's pretty linear, but there are some very nice scenes, particularly the finale which has lots of potential for players to use clever tactics.

There are also detailed rules for using (or fighting) a Steam Tank, making this particularly good value if that's of interest to you!

For a more in-depth review see my blog: https://illmetbymorrslieb.wordpress.com/2024/05/27/review-the-emperors-wrath/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Role Play: The Emperor's Wrath
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
by Jennifer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2024 20:11:47

My only issue is there are no bookmarks in the PDF



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Role Play : Death on the Reik Companion
by Zekiel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2024 12:44:58

A collection of more-or-less useful articles, focused on the river life of the Empire. This includes a marvellous collection of NPCs who can be found on or around the river (Cubicle 7 are consistently fantastic at NPCs and related adventure hooks). There's also some useful general information on the Empire's rivers, the Imperial Semaphore Service, trading rules and a marvellous passenger liner, the Emperor Luitpold.

Less good is the section on the Chaos cult the Red Crown, and the very short adventure included is not good at all in my opinion.

Nevertheless well worth buying if you're planning on running an adventure on the river (even if its not Death on the Reik).

For a much more in-depth review see https://illmetbymorrslieb.wordpress.com/2024/05/15/review-death-on-the-reik-companion/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Role Play :  Death on the Reik Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory, Vow of Absolution
by Nathan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2024 22:51:50

Edit may 27th 2024: Litanies are fixed! This book is now, in my opinion, descent! If lacking new content and cost balance for the new stuff. Like why is assault intercessor the same cost as the eradicator. The stuff they get is NOT worth the same at all. Edit may 15th 2024: Grav weapons now have a special effect which makes them interesting but really swingy. Litanies are almost playable, we just need the action type and the duration. This is a lore book with bits of game stuff. This continue the very frustrating trend that C7 is writing Gilead system books and not Wrath and Glory books. That aside, let's talk about what is inside: A decent amount of copy/paste from other releases, some added new content that's all over the place balance and cost wise, a whole new mechanic: Litanies of battle that are so poorly implemented I'd rather they not be there at all, grav weapons that are worse than their bolt weapons counterpart on all points, most new armors are just worse with no benefits for a higher cost and some other stuff I didn't read in details cause I lost interest. As it stands, I can only recommend this book if you are interested in the Absolvers' lore.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory, Vow of Absolution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Nathan, Thanks for your feedback, it’s always appreciated! Vow of Absolution’s new weapons and armour have been fairly substantially rebalanced in the latest errata. We've a further update coming for Litanies to clarify how they're intended to be used. We hope these updates will enhance your enjoyment of Vow Of Absolution! Thanks again, The Cubicle 7 Team
pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory, Vow of Absolution
by Bartek [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2024 07:15:56

EDIT 02.06 : It was really nice to see that Cubicle7 responded to my review and gave me hope that they would actually take care of the issues I mentioned as they said they would, but unfortunately when the errata finally came out I was extremely disappointed. Unfortunately, I have to stick to my previous review, which I wanted to change, because almost nothing has been changed, the weapon tables have not been improved even in the slightest, and only Combat Visor and Haywire Mine have been added to the inventory, which, by the way, are also not impressive... This is all the more sad, in a situation where I was assured that they would take care of it :(

Reviev: I hate to write this but this is my opinion: Others have described the problems with this book and the previous Aeldari expansion very well on DriveThruRPG, but I will only elaborate on the problems with the equipment and weapons aspect because I was interested in this aspect and the new skills/talents. Unfortunately, even after the errata, there are a lot of problems with the reasonableness and consistency of the tables as well as the lack of many descriptions of the equipment that players can receive when choosing specific archetypes. Here is the list of problems:

Melee - Heavy thunder hammer is much better that regular TH but is cheaper 3 points of value! Astartes chainsword is too good, almost as good as Relic blade (which have just -3AP to -1 from Chainsword) at the same value and rarity. Power fist is harder to acquire than Lightning Claws but is much worse coz have unwieldy (2) when LC don't and even get Rending (2). Power weapons are also almost as good as Power fist but is way cheaper coz one rarity and 2 value down. Eviscerator is absurd, better dmg, ED, AP, range and what? Is cheaper than Power fist just like Power weapons, what's wrong with Power fist, why it is so weak and hard to get?

Ranged - -Occulus Bolt Carbine is worse than Bolt Carbine, 2 less dmg, lesser rapid fire and salvo rating and lack of assault trait, why? -Assault plasma Incinerator is just worse than Regular, less ED and worse traits but Rarity and value is the same. ?? -Eliminator gear is just lazy copy paste form Astartes Sniper rifle from core rulebook, shame, even they don't mention any special ammo for Bolt Sniper Rifle, you can only use Deathwatch special ammo from core rulebook. Las fusil is also a joke, this should be much more powerful than Long Las and not as much as lascannon but get only -1AP and two more dmg from Long Las and Silent trait, beside this that Fusil have only 12 short rng, even Executor Bolt Rifle is better than this weapons. Both weapons are weirdly cheap. This one was my most anticipated archetype and gear and I'm extremely disappointed with it. Only good is Phobos Armor which is adequately stealthier than other armors nice :) -Bolt Rifles, Auto bolt rifle deal much more dmg than regular rifle, why? I get it that may trade penetration for more ammunition and fire speed but why get two more base dmg, one more ED, one more salvo and even one more Rapid fire and assault trait. Storm bolter wield casually by Terminators have such weak stats in comparison, no sense IMO. Same problem in Heavy Intercessors variant, Hellstorm Bolt Rifle which is Auto bolt rifle but for H.Intercessors is directly worse than ABR, even in comparison to regular Heavy Bolt Rifle, so weird, why? Executor also have weirdly strong profile in comparison to any other Bolt weapon. -Where is Grav weapons trait description?

Gear - -Grapnel Launcher, there is weapon profile but no regular using mechanic description? -Same for many other equipment like Servo Harness, divinator class auspex, transpectral combat visor, haywire mine.

But to make it not so bitter, there are also advantages: the errata corrected several special skills of archetypes, such as Terminator's, and errors in schemes, such as Techmarine in the Intercessor scheme. Now it looks much better.

I want it to look good and I will be happy to help improve it, so if the Creator also cares about it, I can volunteer to help balance this part of the rulebook, I leave my email here - pastele98@gmail.com



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Bartek, Thanks for your feedback. The weapons and armour tables have received many updates that address several of the points you’ve raised. We will soon release another (hopefully final!) errata update. We hope these updates will enhance your enjoyment of Vow of Absolution. Thanks for your interest in getting involved, if you’d like feel free to reach out to info@cubicle7.com Thank you, The Cubicle 7 Team
pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory, Vow of Absolution
by Irene [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2024 10:10:45

I have mixed feelings on this one. The book provides beautifully in-depth lore on the Absolvers Chapter, written with Cubicle 7's customary nuance. However, as a definitive Astartes sourcebook, it rises to the level of “okay.”

Perhaps I was spoiled by “Inheritance of Embers,” which provided more Archetypes than I ever thought possible (including Mandrakes, which I did not dream would ever be playable). However, while I expected the majority of this book to focus on the Absolvers (that was never in doubt), I was disappointed by the lack of content for other Chapters.

Things NOT found in this book include:

  • No Archetypes for high-profile non-Codex units found in big-name Chapters (Space Wolf Blood Claws/Black Templar Neophytes as an alternative to Scouts, Wolf Priests as a Chaplain/Apothecary hybrid, Sanguinary Priests, etc.)
  • No Rules for major Successor Chapters whose character has notably drifted from their roots (Black Templars, Lamenters, Exorcists, Silver Skulls, most of the Salamanders successors, etc.)
  • No further create-your-own Successor Chapter rules.
  • No section on the Deathwatch – which surprised me most of all, as they would be the logical focal point for non-Absolver Astartes – or any further information on their base of operations, major characters, plot-hooks, etc.

As for what IS there, the Archetype section does a decent job of filling out the roster of major codex-aligned roles. (This includes the Techmarine, the one Archetype I thought they absolutely needed to include.) Vows of Absolution also takes the welcome step of re-printing Astartes archetypes from other books, so you can have them all in one place for easy reference. The book also expands the concept of using talents to represent certain Astartes roles from “Assault Doctrine” and “Devastator Doctrine” for the Firstborn, to several new doctrines for the Primaris, which I believe adds a lot of potential flexibility to play.

(Note: These are not the only new Archetype additions, simply the highlights that stood out most to me.)

There are also a bunch of new Astartes talents, including two for each of the First Founding Chapters. (As this is the main acknowledgment non-Absolver Chapters get in the book, it feels insufficient, but the talents themselves ARE cool.) Two new Librarian disciplines were also added, although the second only consists of three powers. Chaplains have also gained access to new abilities called “Litanies of Battle.” The book also adds a bunch of new Wargear, (although, at the time of writing, this section appears to contain a number of errors, which seem to be in the process of being fixed).

The newly-added lore for the Absolvers IS fascinating, detailed, and well-written. The book does an admirable job of answering a number of questions hanging over the Chapter – and in a way that creates even more potential plot-hooks. As a GM, it introduces many elements I can’t wait to play around with in my games; I am practically salivating at the potential. The book goes into expansive detail about the Chapter’s multiple bases of operations and areas of concern for the Absolvers around the Gilead System.

There are also multiple side-bars with intriguing additional plot-hook ideas for a potential GM. (My favorite addition are side-bars in a distinct color that are clearly from an increasingly alarmed Inquisitor who’s taken on the mission to investigate the Chapter.) Also, avoiding spoilers, there is a MAJOR plot point introduced in the book, which has the potential for massive ramifications for the System – which, again, as a GM, makes me giddy.

All in all, a mixed bag. If you are fine with an Absolvers-only Astartes campaign, you will likely be quite happy. If you are looking for the definitive Astartes sourcebook ... it isn’t that the book fails to add good things; however, if you are a fan of other pre-existing Chapters – especially some of the less Codex-compliant Chapters (Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Black Templars), or Chapters with a more unusual Chapter flavor (Lamenters, Exorsists, Silver Skulls) – there will still be material you can use, but the amount of it will likely be disappointing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Irene, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and will look into more non-Absolvers and Astartes content in the future. The Cubicle 7 Team
pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Hahnbrandt Militia
by Kenneth [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2024 07:13:18

Extremely short, unremarkable, PDF which is apparently incomplete. It is missing illustrations/content.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Hahnbrandt Militia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory, Vow of Absolution
by Jay [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2024 17:07:47

EDIT (5/2/24): There's now a third version of the pdf, and it's now desrving of a 5-star review!

EDIT (4/25/24): The second version of the pdf is much improved. There's still some work to be done, but it's enough that I raised my rating by two stars.

This product follows the unfortunate recent trends for the Wrath & Glory line. The archetypes have terrible copy/paste issues (as an example, the Intercessor has the skills and gear of the Techmarine). Several pieces of gear are mentioned but not given stats (Heavy Melta Rifle, Plasma Incerator, Heavy Plasma Incinerator, Assault Plasma Incinerator, Astartes Chainsword). Of the weapons that do have stats, they are often riddled with errors (and, if you're an Intercessor, you'll find that NONE of the ranged weapons have the Primaris keyword). I spent a great deal of time reporting all of the errors in the Aeldari book only to see C7 fail to fix them in the update. With this, I sadly foresee the same. I can't understand why someone would give this book a 5* review when it's so badly done in its present form.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory, Vow of Absolution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Jay, Thank you for the 5-star review. We appreciate your feedback and support! The Cubicle 7 Team
pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Enemy in Shadows Companion
by Zekiel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2024 12:03:42

This book is essentially a big collection of information on the Empire, much of which is useful for any WFRP GM - regardless of whether you're running the Enemy in Shadows adventure or not!

Highlights are the overview of the Empire (which really ought to have been in the main WFRP rulebook) and a big chapter of largely excellent NPCs, to be slotted into any adventure to add colour and/or adventure hooks.

I was personally a bit unimpressed by the Travelling Rules but I can imagine they might be to some people's taste.

There's also a nice chapter on Chaos and Tzeentch magic and a useful (big!) table of mutations. Plus a couple of decent (if not amazing) short adventures.

For a much more in-depth review see: https://illmetbymorrslieb.wordpress.com/2024/03/11/review-enemy-in-shadows-companion-part-1/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Enemy in Shadows Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Role Play: Death on the Reik - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 2
by Zekiel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2024 16:32:17

An absolutely classic adventure featuring a host of fantastic locations - most notably the sinister Castle Wittgenstein - and memorable NPCs. The early provision of a barge for the player characters is inspired, and provides players with an excellent feeling of freedom.

The update from the original (1st edition) version is not as impressive as one might hope - in particular adventure hooks are still rather lacking, and there are some disappointing omissions (like a scale on the map).

Nevertheless there is a huge amount of good, usable content here and I thoroughly recommend this.

For a (much) more thorough review (with spoilers) see: https://illmetbymorrslieb.wordpress.com/2024/04/13/review-death-on-the-reik-part-1/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Role Play: Death on the Reik - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory, Vow of Absolution
by Matthew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2024 14:34:26

Edit 4/24: Its mostly fixed. call it a 4.5/5. Still a few things missing, like the Grav weapon quality and Artificer Armor w/Servo Harness. Better than it was on release. I still would like the alternate marks of power armor to not (mostly) be straight up downgrades. It seems... not finished. There are items mentioned in the Archetypes that aren't in the book at all, the Occulus, Grav pistol/grav gun (and the grav weapon trait is missing), the servo harness isn't described anywhere else than the archetype (unless I missed it somewhere). The weapons tables are whack. Several of the Archetypes are from other books (I actually like this, I only have to open one extra pdf). The book needed another QC pass. The Eldar book has similar issues that were fixed after some weeks, and I hope the line isn't getting looked over in favor of the other warhammer lines. I'll edit this review if it get's fixed, I've been waiting for this book for a LONG time. For the moment it is let down though. Most of the archetypes are useable, but if you're not running an Absolver Chapter game you have some homework to do yourself.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory, Vow of Absolution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Matthew, Thank you for your positive review and feedback. We’ve had a couple of Errata passes, and hope they have met your expectations! We should have another final update quite soon. The Cubicle 7 Team
pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath and Glory: Aeldari: Inheritance of Embers
by Joseph [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2024 21:01:55

Clean up the Shuriken Weapon table. For godssake.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath and Glory: Aeldari: Inheritance of Embers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath and Glory: Aeldari: Inheritance of Embers
by eathr349 [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2024 11:41:12

Edit (5/10/2024): Update fixed many issues I have increased rating

I'm glad that the eldar get some content but I will only judge the book in its current condition. And its current condition is not great, I won't say barebones but this seems rather lean on content. More importantly the amount of boneheaded errors and typos makes me not really enthusiastic to make builds as everything might change. Also the ranger long rifle salvo of (-) means I only have 4 shots. Which is just silly and I hope it gets the 0 it had in the base book which makes more sense.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 917 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates