DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by Dave [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2024 17:40:31

This book rocks. Gorgeous I love it more than I can say.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
by Greg [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2024 16:20:51

EDIT: DO NOT BUY THIS. The module is not compatible with V12, and the developer has gone radio silent so there's no indication it ever will be.

Grab the free OSRIC compendium module and go from there.

Missing random content that isn't missing in the free UFT/Classic Fantasy module. Monsters reported missing in the discord months ago still haven't been added. There is also no art for any of the monsters, just the exact same generic placeholder for each one. It hasn't been updated in three months, as of this writing, and the Discord is pretty much dead. I don't know if it's even in active development, or they're just focusing on churning out the next OSE product, instead of actually finishing this one. This was so expensive for a product that is still so half-baked. It makes Necrotic Gnome look bad and I definitely won't be spending any more money on their VTT products; not while they're partnered with VTT Red. Two stars for at least having a decent base to build off, but I expected a lot more for the price.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Winter's Daughter (5th Edition Version)
by J C [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2024 11:28:15

Great adventure location. Lots of things to play with, interesting folks to meet, hijinks and shenanigans to get up to. Very OSR / sandboxy, not a linear "adventure" at all.

It's got interesting greater world hooks for anyone interested in the (currently publishing / fulfilling the Kickstarter) Dolmenwood setting, as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winter's Daughter (5th Edition Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
by Scott K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2024 14:57:14

Incredible Foundry integration! I love having everything I need to run a session at my fingertips without leaving the VTT environment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Carcass Crawler: Issue One
by Brian [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2024 20:47:50

The optional D6 thief skills rules are the main reason to get this issue for me. The options for adjudicating thief skills are also helpful. The Acolyte and Mage classes are well done and probably better for newer players or short games than the existing Cleric and Magic-User. They may also serve experienced players well. In a longer game the Mage will likely make finding and scribing scrolls play a larger role in the game. I thought it was funny that the Mage and Acolyte adopt the % system that the D6 Thief Skills was moving away from. I think I'd prefer a d6 skills for Mage and Acolytes rather than %.

I'm not itching to add black powder fireams to my game but I appreciate the rules here in case it I need them. Some of my players feel the Combat Talents get away from the strength that is OSE's simplicity and start to feel too much like 3e or 5e but I know other players like them. The Hephaestan is a vulcan and the Kineticist is based on force-users from Star Wars. They could be fun to add but some players might feel they don't fit in some settings.

Overall, this is a solid issue of the official OSE zine and I'd recommend adding it if any of the above appeals to you but I definitely don't see it as essential and I'd pick up certain 3rd party OSE and general OSR supplements before it if I somehow lost access to my books and files. Carcass Crawler 2 is somewhat stronger in my book and its closer to what I want from an official OSE zine.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Carcass Crawler: Issue One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Winter's Daughter (5th Edition Version)
by David [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2023 00:42:41

Good adventure! It's pretty easy to run and to prepare - and I think even without preparation you could just take this and have a good time together with your players. Plot is decent and it could be run as oneshot in few hours. You have combat encounters, different NPCs (I like to use silly voices) and puzzles in it.

I've runned it for 5 3rd level characters - don't do this, it was walk in the park. I think 2nd level would make things tense, but not deadly for new to hobby players. We make it into 3 hours - I dropped stage of tavern whispers gathering and allowed them shortcome some of encounters by smart play.

The most iconic characters of this adventure as for me are the waltzing couple in the center of crypt. I played them as totally bored from dance him "10 years of dance without break, can we talk to those guys" and her like "save your breath, dear, we should make this 13 years challenge". They both are friendly unless you "wake up children" and could be used as tipgivers, if party is stuck on puzzle.

In general my player's opinions were divided on my run of this adventure: girls were "that's a blast", but guys were like "boring, we want more and harder fights". But I think in general adventure is pretty good and I am going to run it again someday. Recommend to buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winter's Daughter (5th Edition Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dolmenwood Calendar
by rolmaster [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2023 05:42:10

It has been very useful to me, I'm doing something totally unrelated but the calendar made me have a resource to especify a lot of events through the year with the separation and lunar cicles perfectly put so the "dramatic time" was perfect. 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dolmenwood Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
by Matthew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2023 21:05:16

It's good to have the text of OSE:AF available in Foundry for easy look up and to share with players. However, the items that were made for use in Foundry (i.e. equipment, monsters, etc.) are full of errors, missing text, etc. Most are minor issues, but the monster entries really feel sloppy, and I've had to go through each entry one by one to fix typos and adjust Foundry-related things like token names, disposition, etc. For a paid product I wish there had been more proof-reading.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
by Kevin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2023 10:42:40

The creators are still working on content for this module, the last update was 2.0.1 in September of 2023. This review would be 2 stars if it weren't for the updates.

There are still some things missing in the content, and errors here and there, but the developer does have a roadmap for fixes. Seems to be a one-person venture, and with Dolmenwood's Kickstarter ended (fall 2023 at time of writing), I expect updates to slow to a crawl, but hopefully not.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Incandescent Grottoes (for Foundry VTT)
by Kevin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2023 10:32:50

I was on the fence, since the Foundry VTT version of Advanced Fantasy isn't fully finished yet (I hope). Thankfully this adventure is more solid, save a few errors (such as missing walls, the maps being half their intended size, missing lights, etc).

The creator is still updating the module too, so there's hope that these issues will be gone in future releases. This would be 5 stars if I could've played it out of the box without a bit of cleanup.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Incandescent Grottoes (for Foundry VTT)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by 12 3. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2023 01:06:27

EDIT 9/8/23: Thanks to Necrotic Gnome for responding to my reveiw! When the updated PDF is released I fully intend to update my reveiw to the five starts this game deserves!

EDIT 10/5/23: To the snowflake below me: great, now copy the rest of that paragraph.

I want to like this book. The rules are fun, it's well organized, etc., but I can't.

The game has an enemy stat block for "Dervish" (if you weren't aware, that is the name for a real-life Muslim religious order). They are described as "Fanatically religious, nomadic people who wander steppes and desert regions, living in tents," "Intolerant of other religious beliefs," and have a trait called "Holy War" that describes them invading, forcibly converting, and enslaving other religious communities. An image of a man in traditional Dervish clothes accompanies this stat block.

At best, this is an extremely loaded and questionable way to depict a minority culture. Maybe this is a holdover from White Box D&D? I'm not sure, but I can't recommend anyone support this game while it contains something this distasteful.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi there, thanks so much for noting this! Looking at this again, we agree that the dervish entry refers to a real world culture in a reductive and inappropriate way. We will revise this in future printings of the game (along with a PDF update). As you mentioned, everything in Old-School Essentials is derived from the 1980s Basic rules. This is the only place in the game where a real world culture is directly referenced, so is out of place in a fantasy game, anyway. Rachel / Customer Support
pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2023 20:10:41

Five stars because the they/them below me is crying about identity politics.

The game has an enemy stat block for "Dervish" (if you weren't aware, that is the name for a real-life Muslim religious order).

Five Stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Incandescent Grottoes
by Jonas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2023 13:35:48

I've had a great time GMing this well written dungeon full of color and wit!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Incandescent Grottoes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Referee's Screen Inserts
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2023 13:13:49

Updated: I updated to 4 stars because my original review was a bit unfair. I was just feeling more overwhelmed playing OSE than I would have expected after my first play with a poorly organized OSR adventure. That's quite helpful really so are the saving throws and really going through the book most of what would be critical to most sessions is there.

My real issue is: 1) that it could include abilities for more classes instead of spell progression 2) the OSR adventure was a disorganized mess (and not an OSE product)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Referee's Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
It sounds like you may be thinking of a different product. The OSE referee's screen inserts consist purely of rules and procedures from the game: Combat rules + tables, Ability checks + saving throws rules, Movement rules + table, Dungeon exploration procedure + rules, Wilderness exploration procedure + rules, Encounters procedure + rules, Downtime rules, Summary of class abilities + class tables, Equipment list + weapon stats, Land vehicles.
pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
by Adam [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2023 06:18:47

As others have mentioned, this Foundry module for OSE Advanced lacks content from the books (Monster encounter rolltables, magic items treasure tables, various monter stats) and for a VTT module there's little to no automation features. At this price point I'd have expected more. At time of writing, it's been over 2 months since the last update to this module currently at v1.0.4.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy (for Foundry VTT)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 191 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates