DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
100 Avian Beasts
by Jeff [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2024 04:35:37

This is mostly what is says on the tin. a list of animals that can fly. (Not all are avian.) This has the entries listed 1 to 100.

Positive:

  1. The numbering allows you to roll a d100 to get a random creature.
  2. Each creature has some good details.

Negative

  1. There is not a separate category in each entry for information about the climate or terrain the creature comes from. With many of the creatures that can be determined. But it will require extra work on the DMs part to determine.
  2. Because that information isn't listed in an easily accessible way, DMs will have a hard time finding creatures for the location their characters are at quickly.

Of course a merchant might have one of these creatures far from their normal climes, or maybe they stowed away in a crate and now the local population doesn't know how to deal with these foreign pests.

Personally, I think the best uses for this product might be to either read all the entries and choose something the characters will discover. Or to give some random entries to the players when they discover a book on nature or flying creatures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Avian Beasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Encounters for a Dubious Starport
by Jurriaan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2023 19:36:46

So basically it's just 100 ideas (oneliners) without any worked out encounter.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
100 Encounters for a Dubious Starport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Bits of Miscellaneous Tat to Find (5E)
by Elizabeth N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2023 12:49:44

It is exactly as labelled, and I love the little everyday items. Especially the non-magical alchemy items, which I popped straight into my Apothecary shop!

Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Bits of Miscellaneous Tat to Find (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Sci-Fi Cults
by Ken M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2023 14:30:17

You get what you pay for. This was pretty uninpired. Not totally useless, but pretty low value. If I had paid more than this it would have been 1 star. If people want to flesh out some of these ideas and create truly great content, their work would deserve more stars based on creativity and effort alone.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
100 Sci-Fi Cults
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gods of Sundara (PFRPG)
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2022 20:18:49

PDF/Layout Information: •Page Count: 29 (6 Devoted to Front/Back Cover, Table of Contents, an advert page to other products, and the OGL): Leaves us with 23 pages of content, 22 if you exclude the "What is this product" page. •The pages adhere to a clean, simple, two column layout for ease of readability and to include imagery of either the deity's chosen weapon or their holy symbol. Personally I would have been happier if all of them were of the holy symbol as imagery of weapons are abundant in other products but we recognize how it might be tricky to confine to page space with some of them.

The Content: The opening blurb on 'What is 'Cities of Sundara' helps properly manage your expectations on vibe and tone of the setting of this product line. we can't help but think, however, this should have been a tweaked one for this specific product instead of one that feels like for a city or setting book.

We like the concept of the 'Prim' introduced here as a in-between plane of energy, although from a cosmological standpoint we wish they gave us just a little more on how that lays out in relation to the other 'in-between' planes that exist by default (Astral, Ethereal, Demiplanes, etc).

The note of carving out of alignment in the "No Angels, No Devils, and No Alignments" section as an expectation is an important one mechanically for the Pathfinder version of this document to remind people but is less mechanically important for the 5e version. As such, we think this could have been cut from the 5e product, or both could have been combined into one product.

When we start reading about deities specifically, their faces (different aspects of the same deity), their pillars (universal tenants across all aspects), their divine realm, omens, and blessings we are excited. But then we see things in the Domain section such as "Tempest" and "War" for Charne. This is fine and dandy for the D&D 5e version of the product, but for the Pathfinder 1e version? What's a Tempest Domain? Where are the subdomains, which all but the most minor/esoteric of deities have, or were introduced at the tail end of the production cycle. This isn't a hiccup in just Charne, but each of the 10 deities in this book.

The new Race: Prim-Touched We like the concept as it's listed in both versions of this book. It feels sort of like a "Build Your Own Aasimar" for PF1e, and falls in line with some of the later production cycle racial adjustments for 5e. This fills the void of the plane-touched races from the 'No Angels' section. Something they confirm with the "Customizing Your Prim-Touched" entry. The only minor quibble we have is calling it a "Species", mostly because "Race" in this context is a Mechanical Term, and changing mechanical term for seemingly no reason always a feels bad moment.

Conclusion: We want to like this product, either version, as there are some interesting concepts introduced here..but there are too many hiccups for us to rate this higher than a 3/5 for this product.

If they spent more time actually tailoring the book for the two systems instead of a quick copy-paste and only tweaked the race, we think they could have had two 4/5 or 5/5 products, or if they took the approach of a combined document with extra notes for both PF1e and D&D 5e as to what the mechanics were, you might devote two whole pages to each deity instead of 1.X but could still have the design space for fixing the mechanical hiccups.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gods of Sundara (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gods of Sundara (5E)
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2022 20:18:19

PDF/Layout Information: •Page Count: 29 (6 Devoted to Front/Back Cover, Table of Contents, an advert page to other products, and the OGL): Leaves us with 23 pages of content, 22 if you exclude the "What is this product" page. •The pages adhere to a clean, simple, two column layout for ease of readability and to include imagery of either the deity's chosen weapon or their holy symbol. Personally I would have been happier if all of them were of the holy symbol as imagery of weapons are abundant in other products but we recognize how it might be tricky to confine to page space with some of them.

The Content: The opening blurb on 'What is 'Cities of Sundara' helps properly manage your expectations on vibe and tone of the setting of this product line. we can't help but think, however, this should have been a tweaked one for this specific product instead of one that feels like for a city or setting book.

We like the concept of the 'Prim' introduced here as a in-between plane of energy, although from a cosmological standpoint we wish they gave us just a little more on how that lays out in relation to the other 'in-between' planes that exist by default (Astral, Ethereal, Demiplanes, etc).

The note of carving out of alignment in the "No Angels, No Devils, and No Alignments" section as an expectation is an important one mechanically for the Pathfinder version of this document to remind people but is less mechanically important for the 5e version. As such, we think this could have been cut from the 5e product, or both could have been combined into one product.

When we start reading about deities specifically, their faces (different aspects of the same deity), their pillars (universal tenants across all aspects), their divine realm, omens, and blessings we are excited. But then we see things in the Domain section such as "Tempest" and "War" for Charne. This is fine and dandy for the D&D 5e version of the product, but for the Pathfinder 1e version? What's a Tempest Domain? Where are the subdomains, which all but the most minor/esoteric of deities have, or were introduced at the tail end of the production cycle. This isn't a hiccup in just Charne, but each of the 10 deities in this book.

The new Race: Prim-Touched We like the concept as it's listed in both versions of this book. It feels sort of like a "Build Your Own Aasimar" for PF1e, and falls in line with some of the later production cycle racial adjustments for 5e. This fills the void of the plane-touched races from the 'No Angels' section. Something they confirm with the "Customizing Your Prim-Touched" entry. The only minor quibble we have is calling it a "Species", mostly because "Race" in this context is a Mechanical Term, and changing mechanical term for seemingly no reason always a feels bad moment.

Conclusion: We want to like this product, either version, as there are some interesting concepts introduced here..but there are too many hiccups for us to rate this higher than a 3/5 for this product.

If they spent more time actually tailoring the book for the two systems instead of a quick copy-paste and only tweaked the race, we think they could have had two 4/5 or 5/5 products, or if they took the approach of a combined document with extra notes for both PF1e and D&D 5e as to what the mechanics were, you might devote two whole pages to each deity instead of 1.X but could still have the design space for fixing the mechanical hiccups.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gods of Sundara (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tomes of Cthulhu
by Sergio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2022 10:03:19

This is a great piece of DM material for sesion prep. Decent amount of "tomes" with interesting notes about them, also it is system agnostic so no conversion needed. There are some minor grammatical errors. Cant wait to read volume II



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomes of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Foods to Find in a Dungeon
by William R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2022 22:47:50

One of the best "idea collection" RPG books I've ever bought. Absolutely the best one devoted to food and painting a picture of a unique ecology’s foodstuffs.

I adore creative worldbuilding of all kinds, but especially that which tries to create in areas that are rarely explored. Reading this book felt a lot like playing Morrowind, in that it painted a vivid picture of an ecosystem and society that is very much alien, and yet fascinatingly familiar in little ways that matter. People still brew booze, boil eggs, and sear steaks, but where they get them and how they do it might be very different indeed to what surface dwellers are familiar with. In that vein, many of the foods are titled in a familiar manner, yet the description cleverly twists the concept in an unfamiliar direction. The entries for “Boiled Eggs” and “Fungus Pickle” especially caught me off guard with how much they differed from the images that their names conjured.

While there is some slight repetition in the theme of poisonous and hallucinogenic ingredients, or Fugu-esque dishes that must be cooked perfectly to avoid injury, the novel concepts far outweigh that potential issue. Even then, those themes are used creatively in most of their entries, specifically in that they create an image of underground societies that eat and cook like people. Trying new things, experimenting, arguing over the best way to prepare things, and perhaps unwisely seasoning their dishes with substances that endanger or intoxicate them for the sake of entertainment.

This can easily be used as a wonderfully humanizing imagining of the cuisine, and culture, of any species or society that lives in an underground environment, whether you use it in a fantasy, science-fiction, or even a post-apocalyptic setting. I also just genuinely adore the writing in this piece, and having just purchased a number of titles from Azukail Games, I have high hopes for the other works as well. Thank you guys, this was a delightfully seasoned read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Foods to Find in a Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Red Stone Circle
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2022 10:25:37

Well worth the investment, this module contains a map and description of a place encounter that can easibly be inserted into any campaign. It is short and concise, and the only thing I would have like to see added was some encounter suggestions for placement at the center of the circle. Otherwsie well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Red Stone Circle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Witches
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/03/2022 11:19:29

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/08/100-days-of-halloween-1000000-witches.html

100 Witches

PDF. 19 pages. Color cover and pages. Black & white art. $1.99.

This book has 100 different witches with names and a paragraph for their background. Need a quick NPC witch? Roll a d100 and you will have one. There are no stat blocks, just the names and backgrounds. But that is exactly what they adveritse, so we are in great shape really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Ruins to Encounter
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2022 04:05:59

Almost unreadable (no index, no organization). Highlighted keywords would help. Not usable randomly, too confusing to remember interesting items, too cluttered to read easily.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
100 Ruins to Encounter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Goods and Services to Find on the Fantasy Black Market
by Iteria J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2022 12:01:05

I love it and it help me for my story however i wish there was ceaurse that you can't sell on the black market



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Goods and Services to Find on the Fantasy Black Market
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
10 Fantasy Villages
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2022 09:58:25

Absolutely excellent overview of 10 fantasy villages. Avoids many of the flaws of other products like this - no "Oh, look! Demigorgon is tending bar!", "The outhouse is a portal to the Elemental Plane of Air", etc.

Just nice normal villages with interesting stories, people, placing and personalities that won't disrupt anyone's campaign with gonzo stuff.

The maps are simple, but well done and nicely generic in that they will fit in any type of terrain without requiring weird terrain additions to someones already existing map (another flaw in other products like this).

I'll definitely keep an eye out for more of this quality. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Fantasy Villages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Spam Emails to Find
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2021 02:19:20

Great table to fill the computers in your world with clutter. Well written, descriptive and believable. Great value for less than a buck!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Spam Emails to Find
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Pieces of Cyber Data to Bamboozle Players to Discover
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2021 00:42:41

Great table for a buck. It is exactly what it says it is. Each entry is actually pretty interesting. Nothing too unbelievable. They put good thought into these. You could easily turn any of these into a thread for your players to pull to turn into something bigger if you're creative enough. Or "sometimes a cigar is just a cigar".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Pieces of Cyber Data to Bamboozle Players to Discover
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 67 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates