DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
by August [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2024 10:01:34

The book is fine. I gave it three stars for the God awful shipping from Drivethrurpg. I have other hobbies and no online store is as horrible as this nitwit outfit. I order art supplies two days, guitar pedals two days, clothing two days, coffee two days. A book from Drivethrurpg? It seems to be ten to twelve days! I try to just buy many items offered by them on eBay or any other source but sometimes you have no choice for Kickstarter prints. The lack of any reliable tracking just adds to the frustration. It just seems like there is no love of gaming or gamers but just making money for themselves. I'll keep posting my disgust until they improve their shipping for at present it is too subpar.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
AFF Adventure Creator
by Dominique [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2024 14:00:23

It's a magnificent book, the most complete I know.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AFF Adventure Creator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Doom of the Ice Planet
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 12:42:48

A nice adventure with good looking illustrated maps.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Doom of the Ice Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Titan Herbal
by Alessandro [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2024 15:00:32

Lovely addition to the series of AFF2 rulebooks! I really enjoyed it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Titan Herbal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Advanced Fighting Fantasy Quickstart
by Mark [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2024 14:14:19

In some ways these Quickstart rules do not do the full rules credit. The pre-generated characters you are provided with have notably fewer Special Skills and one of the greatest strengths of 2nd edition Advanced Fighting Fantasy is that you can very quickly create heroes as capable as those in films and books and not have the problem of not being able to have enough skills, like in many RPGs.

On the other hand, if the pre-generated characters had actually been created using the actual 2nd edition Advanced Fighting Fantasy rules, which they definitely have not been, it would have been very easy to work out the character creation.

In one of the other reviews of these Quickstart rules the system has been criticised for the combat system not featuring any options other than just making the same dice rolls. Fortunately the full rules do include various combat options, which are absent here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Alien Warriors Set
by Charles [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2024 17:02:24

Arion Games paper miniatures are consistently high quality with a great visual appeal for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien Warriors Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
by Charles [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2024 17:00:17

Arion Games paper miniatures are consistently high quality with a great visual appeal for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Warlock Returns Issue #05
by Andrew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2023 06:22:03

Well it has rules for running cat people and ones brighter than the cat people in Out of the Pit so that has to be a good thing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Warlock Returns Issue #05
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Fantasy Skirmish
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2023 05:18:26

really enjpyed this book and look forward to deploying it into a fantasy campaign in the near future



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Fantasy Skirmish
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
End Times Campaign
by Alessandro V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2023 14:11:19

I think this is the longer campaign ever published by Arion Games so far in a single book. I have been particularly impressed and within days I started running it. It is a campaign that compells you to run it ASAP. It can be adapted to most fantasy campaigns and there are plenty of maps.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
End Times Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Advanced Fighting Fantasy Deluxe
by Tony K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2023 16:56:37

TL;DR: Advanced Fighting Fantasy (AFF 2e) assumes that players are familiar with tabletop roleplaying games, or the Fighting Fantasy books. The rules are written in a very British conversational style and is not a game of hard and fast rules. AFF 2e is about a traditional fantasy adventuring party, collaborating to achieve a shared goal in an adventure or a campaign.
After procrastinating for many years, I decided to invest heavily into Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd edition. I wanted a simple, robust and hackable rules-lite system, a large bestiary and well supported by official adventures, that can be used for solo play, introduce novices into our hobby and support long campaigns. I also prefer systems which support a bell curve, like the 2d6 task resolution used by AFF 2e, providing swingy dice rolls. AFF 2e offers only four characteristics, SKILL, LUCK, STAMINA. A fourth characteristic, MAGIC, is only for those who are magically inclined. SKILL represents the general ability of the character to do things and is enhanced by special skills. STAMINA represents health, the physical punishment a character can take, and is also used by Sorcerers to power their spells. LUCK is used for situations outside of the SKILL characteristic, such as testing for fear, resisting magic, avoiding traps, and stumbling over clues. These characteristics are supported by special skills and talents to uniquely define a character. The mechanical simplicity of AFF 2e would be an advantage for solo gaming, or GM-less play with an oracle, but I am interested in a dungeon, city, wilderness, naval, swashbuckling medieval to renaissance low magic fantasy campaign. AFF 2e requires a GM to play (called a “Director”), and depending on the output of our group brainstorm, we’ll either use one of the official campaigns, do a point crawl campaign, or a cooperative hex crawl using the random generators and other resources found in the AFF 2e system. To cover all these options, I decided to purchase the following books: Deluxe Edition – includes the AFF 2e rules, Out of the Pit (250 monsters) and the Titan official setting. The AFF 2e rules cover character creations, archetypes, special skills, talents, social actions, encumbrance, perception, hazards, combat, minor magic, wizardry, sorcery, a small selection of monsters, and treasures and a dungeon adventure. The Titan setting has aspects of Stormbringer, Conan and Lord of the Rings with detailed history, continents, major factions, the underwater kingdoms, major points of interests, personas, a calendar, coinage, entertainment, and food. One can easily run a dungeon delving campaign with minimal preparation just using the Deluxe book which has a dungeon generator, adventure hooks and optional rules. The Titan setting also provides travel rules to get the party to those dungeons. Between travel, food, board, entertainment, magic shops and taxes, there are lots of opportunities to keep the party poor, and hungry for more adventures and loot. Heroes Companion – includes rules for the hirelings, dominions, mass battles, and afflictions (i.e., Lycanthropy). This also includes a simple system for creating running wilderness campaigns, including random tables for terrain generation, encounters, weather, resource management, and options for heroes and magical styles. The Hero companion and Deluxe rules combined would allow Wilderness and Dungeon areas to be pre-built together, or randomly determined during campaign play. Blacksand – includes rules for black powder weapons, naval sorcery, sailing, seafaring, and naval combat. Rules for settlement generation (hamlet to large city) and detailed descriptions, organisations and personas for the infamous port of Blacksand, perfect for a Lankhmar style campaign. The details of how the “legal system” operates in Port Blacksand are very characterful, and funny for those not on the receiving end of judgement. Blacksand combined with the Deluxe rules and Heroes Companion would provide a GM with the dungeon, wilderness, and settlement generators, allowing minimal preparation, or cooperative build on the fly, hex crawl campaign. Combat Companion – includes expanded mounted combat rules, monster templates, new equipment, martial arts, and alternative rules for combat including critical and fumble tables. Finally, a checklist to record options chosen for campaign play. It also supports creating less or more powerful characters. My Evil GM persona believes this could provide a fun campaign start, where each player has 4-5 civilians, defending their village from a band of goblins, and choosing a survivor to start their adventuring career. Beyond the Pit - This is another 250 monster, treasure, and random encounter tables. Note that this book, Out of the Pit and Return to the Pit all have an A-Z monster index, allowing quick access during a game session. Return to the Pit – another 250 monsters, treasure, and encounter tables. It also has rules for Familiars, named days of the week, Monster lore and archetype characters (i.e., a Beastmaster). Lastly, it has a consolidated, searchable alphabetical index of every monster in the three “Pit” books, by page number. With these books, one could run a lifetime of fantasy campaigns without needing anything else. AFF 2e would also be suitable for solo or cooperative play using the wilderness, settlement, and dungeon generators in the books. The Encyclopedia of Arcana Vol 1 book was not purchased at this stage, because my preference is to keep a campaign low magic, with players receiving consumables, access to rare knowledge and growing reputations which in turn Evil GM thoughts will attract the attention of more powerful antagonists… There are good, evil and neutral gods present in the Titan setting, but it is a perilous enough place that all characters are implicitly good, as the evil gods seek the utter destruction of the known world, and this simplifies party composition and the reason for adventuring together, allowing novices to concentrate on the action. However, local laws would still need to be obeyed, and murder hobo characters defying the law can be quickly dealt with in-game by using the court system found in Blacksand. While AFF 2e has rules for social standing, there are no rules for a lifepath, edges/flaws, or alignment, as these are unnecessary complications for a system originally designed for dungeon delving. A GM craving an alignment system could import one, use the old-school Law, Neutral and Chaos rules, or enforce a core behaviour through character archetypes. The special skills / talents can neatly represent edges, but GM’s will need to look outside if a rules-based flaw system is desired. However, if the goal of a flaw is to drive characterful play, then a character or party losing to a recurring, powerful, and insufferable villain, will provide those dramatic moments. Those GM’s wanting a life path system in AFF 2e could start the characters as civilians and channel their development through special skills, talents, and archetypes, to create a rich history worthy of journalling, throughout a campaign game. Those groups wanting to live dangerously, and forever remember fondly a glorious (or ignominious) character death, then the Combat Companion options can give that gritty feeling. AFF 2e would be an easy pathway for new GM’s (“Directors”) and players to start with a few published dungeons, before graduating an official campaign. However the system does not offer GM advice and so the Director would need to be someone who already has some roleplaying experience. But a novice group, working together, could muddle their way through the rules. The quality of the PDF’s must be commended and shown as an example to budding game designers. Every book has an index (where applicable) and appendices, with charts & tables consolidated for easy reference and printing for player/GM use. All the books are white pages, using a two-column layout and a black text font. The layout is well spaced for easy reading, with the highly detailed, black and white art, giving the eye a sumptuous and evocative rest from the lines of text. It also means less ink used when charts, tables etc are printed out for play. Most PDF's have a detailed outline with links to each chapter and section, and everything is searchable. This is excellent for finding stuff quickly, either by searching, or just clicking on the relevant section in the PDF outline. Every monster in the three “Pit” books is rendered in beautiful black & white art, a description, and a stat block. Monster attacks and armour are thoughtfully consolidated into the weapon and armour tables, whereas monster special abilities are in the descriptions. If you desire a single, well-supported rules-lite system that can do anything from one-shot dungeons to long campaigns, then AFF 2e could be your game. While AFF 2e may not have the coolness factor of modern OSR games, its 2d6 resolution system would support hacking for any game you desire. I've also heard on the grapevine that an official solo expansion is being developed for AFF 2e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Stellar Adventures Weapons and Armour Catalogue
by Andrew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2023 10:41:32

A wonderful selection of weapons and armour, some which are bargains over their standard rule book equivlaent, while others are the expected over-priced brandnames.

The sales pitches for each equipment entry are great fun.

In addition to the variants on weapons by different manifacturers, there are also a few weapon types entirely absent from the Stellar Adventures main rule book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stellar Adventures Weapons and Armour Catalogue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Stellar Adventures
by Andrew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2023 10:31:13

I think my one big complaint about Stellar Adventures is that there should of been a version of it back in the early 1990s alongside the original Advanced Fighting Fantasy. It would have made a significant difference to me. Back then first edition Advanced Fighting Fantasy and Dungeons & Dragons were the only RPG systems I were familiar with. Stellar Adventures benefits from a fast and simple character creation system, which allows you to create proper heroes with a reasonable number of skills. The combat system is heroic with in its way reasonable cinematic realism.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stellar Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Maelstrom Domesday
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2023 23:36:57

All in all, an alright game. Not a lot of meat on the bones; but a lot of content under the hood nonetheless. Also quite usable as a supplement otherwise with the complete guide to English herbology included in the book itself.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom Domesday
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Inn of Lost Hope
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2022 13:39:29

I recently ran Inn Of Lost Hope for my group and they absolutely loved it.

It's a short adventure set in a small sandbox so it's definitely playable as a single session one-shot, we finished it in about 3.5 hours. The titular Inn is a great haunted house style setting with a lot of description and some guidelines from the author of how to frame the whole thing. The narrative itself is simple and well laid out with enough early information and clues so as to let the players in on the story without clubbing them over the head with it.

In the case of the group I ran this the adventure worked simultaneously well for 2 of the players as bridge from one-adventure to the next while also being a great straight forward introduction to the game for our 3rd player.

My one criticism of the adventure is that for a group of 3 characters the combat encounters were a bit too easy. I would definitely recommend increasing the Skill or Stamina of some of the encounters to increase the challenge level (except the final boss, he was a tough nut to crack).

Overall my players and I had a terrific time and I know almost immediately after running this one of my players got his own copy and ran t for another group.

Definitely 5 stars, would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fun Fighting Fantasy adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inn of Lost Hope
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1058 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates