DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Secrets of the Weird Wizard
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2024 09:32:33

Rob has churned out another banger with this one. Lots of fun to read and great at the game table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of the Weird Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
When the Wolf Comes
by Edward [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2024 21:59:14

Ring Side Report- RPG review of When the Wolf Comes: A Vikingverse Roleplaying Game

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day! 

Product- When the Wolf Comes: A Vikingverse Roleplaying Game

System- Shadow of the Demon Lord

Producer- Schwalb Entertianment

Price- $19.99 here   https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/443491?affiliate_id=658618 

TL; DR-Solid sci-fantasy Viking Shadows of the Demon Lord fun. 99% 

Basics- Where will you be when the wolf comes?!  When the Wolf Comes is a semi-post-apacalypic, semi-fantasy, semi-futuristic Viking version of Shadow of the Demon Lord.  This book covers everything from basic mechanics to how to run a full campaign.  Let’s break this down.

Mechanics or Crunch-  Do you like Shadow of the Demon Lord?  Do you like Vikings?  Do you like Space Vikings?  Then you will like this.  This is just Shadow of the Demon Lord extended to its next evolution as the game moves forward in a solid way.  My one minor issue that is more a personal view is that the end mythic paths are tied to race.  That’s not even bad, just my personal taste in the issue.  The mechanics work and the new stuff here is fantastic.  One of my complaints in TTRPGs in recent years is that character progression was too linear.  This version adds gifts which are akin to feats.  And I love it!  This version fixes my one issue with this system, so this is a solid improvement on an already excellent game.     5/5

Theme or Fluff- The opening of this book is from Schwalb himself praising the author.  This is a solid introduction to the world the author created and ancient Norse as a whole.  It’s a world like our own, but with a split a thousand years ago.  This also isn't just a reskin of a Norse god textbook.  One of the races you expect, dwarves, is not here.  Now you have robots.  Robot servants, so if you want to explore the themes of slavery in your game, have at it!  The base classes are different, and the classes that build off it are all different as well.  This is not just a can of paint on an existing Shadows game, it’s a whole new world to play in.    5 /5

Execution- This is a solid book with one semi-unforgivable sin.  The layout is excellent.  The art is amazing.  And, the book reads well, fast, and fluidly.  I can find what I need as the hyperlinks guide me easily.  There is guidance for new GMs and how to play the COMPLETE system.  This is not just a fluff book, but honestly the whole Shadow of the BLANK system.  There is even an adventure in the back to play right away!  The one thing I want that is not here is four to six premade characters. I know Shadow characters are easy to make, but give me them so I can slam them down and have my friends play in exactly 10 minutes.  Aside from that one, minor issue, this is a fantastic book.  4.9/5

Summary- The most unkind thing I can say about this book is it's simply a splat book for a different version of Shadow of the Demon Lord.  But that does not do this justice.  Any time there are robot dwarves that are not just brass spray painted dwarves with some gears stapled on by another name, but a real, honest to god servitor race with their own issues and even capitalism killing them so you the homeowner have to buy the newest model if you want your floors vacuumed like a roomba with a death sentence, I am hooked.  This takes the simple Shadows gameplay I love and builds it out to a completely new world with new themes and mechanics to explore.  I even get my feats!  It’s not a massive part of the world, but even that small change adds new things mechanically to the system.  I love how the book is put together.  The one thing I want Schwalb Entertainment to do is give me pregens and it will be a near perfect book.  If you even just like the Shadows system and you even just barely like Vikings or you just want to learn more about Norse mythology, then this is the book you need to pick up.  99%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
When the Wolf Comes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Clocks of Fate
by Daniel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2024 10:45:07

I never write negative reviews, this is my first one, but imho deservedly so.

False advertisement and a complete money grab. I would like my $0.99 back, that is how bad this is. It claims that: "This title includes the rule, examples of its use and a selection of Game Icons that you can copy and paste into your own game notes." But it does nothing of the sort. Simply google "Progress Clocks PbtA" and you will find ample examples which are better written, more comprehensive and above all: free.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Clocks of Fate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Paths of War
by Justin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2024 14:35:38

I'm a sucker for martial/caster hybrids and there isn't anything that exactly fits that niche in the core rules. Spell Guardian and Spell Striker are two nicely thought out novice paths that fill that niche in different, complementary ways. Well worth the purchase price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Shadow of the Weird Wizard
by Kevin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2024 11:34:00

Love the new updates, and the new art. Looking forward to more updates on "secrets of the weird wizard". The mechanic changes from Shadow of the Demonlord makes the hybrid class builds compete well against pure caster or martial paths, especially at higher levels. So many fun class options and making characters is very fun and easy. Got enough crunch, but light enough to bring anyone around the table. The tone also makes it a bit more accessible compared to SotDL. With Robs astounding pedigree, he's incredible at bringing his vision to life, thematically and mechanically. Once again he knocks it out of the park with this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Weird Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Shadow of the Weird Wizard
by Ian [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2024 22:11:10

My group and I have played 5e, Pathfinder 1e and 2e, DCC, Worlds Without Number, 13th age, Dragonlance, and after 1 session of SotWW all my players were hooked, and a couple said it's already their favorite out of everything we've played.

With that said, the companion book, "Secrets of the Weird Wizard," is not yet fully complete. It's done enough that it serves its function, but it's not in fully fleshed out yet.

I very much look forward to what comes next for SotWW and I hope it will be supported as heavily as SotDL is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
You Shall Not Take These Noble Souls
by THOMAS [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2024 15:16:39

This picks up where Falling Tears leaves off, continuing the Return of the Witch King adventure path. People travelling through an underground pass are vanishing and the PCs are tasked with finding out why and dealing with it. The reason is pretty creepy, with a horrifying conclusion that presages the Witch King's return. This adventure leans hard into the terrifying and vile when you get to the end, but hey, its Demon Lord, so pretty on brand! If you have sensitive players, the GM can probably edit on the fly a bit. If you are a sensitive GM...well, maybe this one is not for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
You Shall Not Take These Noble Souls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Falling Tears
by THOMAS [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2024 15:06:55

This is the kick off to the Return of the Witch King adventure path. Drudge, having just taken over the empire has sent his orc army to quell any resistance to his rule, and the PCs are going to need to survive them!

This reminded me a bit of Dead by Dawn in that it has mechanics to see if the characters are caught, and in their attempt to flee they might run across many different encounters. You could play this a few times and it might go differently. Its nice to have one more Starting Adventure for the game as well, overall I enjoyed and it falls more in line with SotDL World Lore than the other adventures available, but like most demon lord, make sure your players understand - they are their to SURVIVE not trade fun quips with orcs, or their heads will likely be on pikes by the end!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Falling Tears
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Secrets of the Weird Wizard
by Frenzy [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2024 12:54:23

Amazing improvements over Shadow of the Demon Lord. I love this game. I am eager to see the final release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of the Weird Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
One Bad Apple
by Nick [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2024 11:57:24

Orcs as an infectious species is an awesome twist on gaming monsters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Bad Apple
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Shadow of the Weird Wizard
by Matthew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2024 08:06:11

Pretty good, not sure what people's issue with the layout is as it seems fine. Some of the art is rather meh but other than that pretty cool system, I like how you combine the different paths to make unique combinations.

Also don't mind having only Human's in the core book as it limits the traveling menagerie of twee races plot contrivances.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Weird Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Bat na niewolnika 2
by Jakub [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2024 04:12:30

Przygoda prosta w kompozycji, niczym punkrockowa piosenka :) Liniowy początek oraz koniec, środek oparty na ciekawych tabelach losowych. Bardzo dobrze oddany klimat świata CWD. Przygodę polecam szczególnie do wprowadzania graczy do świata CWD



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bat na niewolnika 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Franz Havorks' Beastman Bestarium
by Near [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2024 21:52:03

Another magnificent work from ra press, this pdf is helping me a lot with beastman encounters, my stock was already sold out lol



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Franz Havorks' Beastman Bestarium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Secrets of the Weird Wizard
by Ian [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2024 15:11:02

For a pre release product, this book rocks. The monster design is chef's kiss. There seems to be another review that misses the ALL CAPS text saying this is pre release, so if reading words is not your thing then I'd steer clear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of the Weird Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Secrets of the Weird Wizard
by Jon [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2024 10:25:06

This is incomplete with cover art etc missing from the download. The system itself is not as clean a Shadow of the Demon Lord with a lot that does not make sense - like weapons an armour.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 284 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates