DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
by James [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2024 02:53:30

Of all the "Oracle" or “Soloing” types of material I've experimented with, including but not limited to Mythic Emulator 2, CRGE, GM’s Apprentice, ChatGPT, and Rory's Story Cubes, this one is head and shoulders above the rest. All of the other systems are some combination of too concrete and/or too involved. Heck, Mythic Emulator 2’s rules summary is six pages long and starts on page 186 of its PDF. At that point you are playing Mythic Emulator 2, not your system of choice (not that there’s anything necessarily wrong with that).

FlexTale Solo Image Oracle is PERFECT. Fast, easy, effortless to learn, packed with usable ideas, elegant, concrete if you need and delightfully open to interpretation if you like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Adventure Generator: Dungeons
by Thizz [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2024 14:45:58

best of igs so far. all the flex tale stuff is great but i really can do a whole campaign from this on its own i think. i have the flex crawl book and tiles too and im already writing my own stuff to add to the tables. super cool stuff and gotta have for every dm for sure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Adventure Generator: Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
by Kurt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2024 17:13:46

So, I’ve played D&D for over 44 years (as of writing – 1980 if you must know), from the Basic “Blue Box” through AD&D, 2e, 3e/3.5, as well as others like Twilight 2000, Gama World, Top Secret, Gang Busters, Dark Conspiracy, et al, and ✨ THIS IS A UNIQUE PRODUCT! ✨ As it clearly states in the introduction, there are PLENTY of random encounter tables available (are any better that the old AD&D DMG?) which just list monsters or potential fights. THIS encompasses SO much more, including when to get your players spooked for no reason! If you’re running a Hexcrawl or just moving PC’s to a dungeon, this is a priceless accessory to have on hand

The graphics and tables are GREAT! As one can imagine, my eyes aren’t what the were when I was pulling chits from a Dixie cup, so the LARGE print, and bold colors along columns or rows really make this an easy read.

OK, now, the for the ding. Some of the grammar is awkward. If this irks you, persevere – it’s not too bad, especially in relation to the value of what’s presented (it just disappoints me). Additionally, there are some clear Cut-and-Paste fails – the “Suffering Adventurer” “Follower” result is clearly copied from the “Missing Townsfolk” result and specifies that the adventurer is a “0th-level commoner” when, clearly, the class should be randomized (although Commoner is perfectly valid). Then I’ve found four items that refer the reader to nonexistent pages in the book for further detail – in the end it’s not necessary, but, you get the point. All in all – or should I go Cromwellian and say “Warts and all?” – this product is WELL worth acquiring!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Environmental Encounters (system-neutral)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Hexcrawl Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
by Richard [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2024 18:41:45

I really like this product, there is a LOT of information in it for designing maps used for hex crawls. And I am starting to make use of it. Up front I want to let you know that the tile is slightly misleading. It is multisystem, period. Actually it is system neutral.

This is not a book that you will enjoy reading cover to cover, rather it is designed to be dipped into in for the information you need at a specific time. The problem is, until I had read a good chunk, I hadn't realized that. The book is in desperate need of a solid introduction with practical guidance on how to use it. Oh, it has an introduction with some useful information, but it doesn't tell you how to use the material to put together a hex or a series of hexes. Rather it spends its time describing the table of contents (repeatedly), and overviews the physical layout of each topic.

Using the author's Toolkit metaphor, it is like giving someone a fully stocked tool kit with a page of instructions that essentially say "We're glad you want to build a house, many of these tools will be useful to you. Use those that you need." Followed by a sheet of instructions for each tool in isolation, one for a hammer, one for a toe nailing jig, and one for a jackhammer. Each one includes "Don't use this if you don't want to, don't poke this in your eye, do use this if it sounds interesting, you can change your mind, ..." These repeated statements make it tedious to read, and the lack of an overarching design process makes it hard to know where to start.

I was expecting more along the lines of "These are the seven decisions you need to make up front. Then for each hex you design you need to do this, then that, and then you may want to do a couple of these other things. Repeat." For me, an explicit tree structure would have been better than a flat list of topics.

One minor quibble, what's with all the icons? Every time there is a key word in bold it is accompanied by a tiny, almost illegible, icon. Personally I find them distracting and of zero value. "Keep in Mind" in bold by itself tells me to keep something in mind. The associated tiny thought cloud adds nothing.

In all, I am satisfied with the product now that I'm understanding how it is used and how I need to navigate it. There is a lot of good, useful information in here, just be prepared to spend time understanding how to effectively read it to use it. Personally, I'm pulling out the key tables into my Obsidian Vault so that I can lay them out how they make sense to me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Hexcrawl Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
by Anna [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2024 17:04:18

thought i wouldn't like it. i ended up loving it. not too overwhelming while having so many possibilities. while it's geared towards fantasy-style games, i easily used it with Twilight 2k and Vampire: the Masquerade with a bit of modification on the wording. def gets a recommendation from me !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
by Richard A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2024 18:58:25

A unique concept by a very prolific author. A simple roll of three dice (preferably different colors) can quickly provide you information as easy as a Yes / No / Maybe all the way up to a monster's role (personality) and who that monster targets in combat to social answers like an NPC lying to you. 216 possibilities and as always with J. Evans Payne, the inspiration to form your own creative ideas and plans. Now I own 4 books by this author. I have become a fan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
by Richard A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2024 16:50:12

I have grown to be a fan of this author and as a result, have purchased 3 books (so far) and I have a handful of PDFs. I wish I can comment that the whole book is great, but at 600+ pages, you may have to wait a year for me to say that. But I can say that what I have seen so far is very useful and I love how it delves into his other ventures, like his FlexAI book. The author is brave in that he gives you a lot of information in this book, including a comprehensive dabble into the FlexAI book, almost to the point where you don't need to buy that book. But I use the word "brave" because he provides so much information (600+ pages) and he is confident (and prolific) enough to author a 400+ page FlexAI. Not counting my PDFs and only counting the 3 books I own from J. Evans Payne, I have over 1,400+ pages of material. Thank Goodness it is reference material that I can just shoot to quickly and not read all of it, because that would take me every bit of 2 years to complete. I have a feeling that as Solo TTRPG popularity soars, we will all look back at authors like J. Evans Payne as pioneers that took us to the next level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Hexcrawl Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
by Richard A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2024 16:29:53

I love how this author is using all these charts and criteria to help my Hex Crawl experience. For years, I had tried to do similar work as author J. Evans Payne and even though I think I do a good job, Payne does it better than me. Payne uses color codes and symbols which really helps the visual learner (like myself) and that is something I could never do. I also love how just about every chart has a thorough breakdown and explanation of its elements. If I had to be critical at all, I would say it is an overwhelming amount of data and information, but I would rather have more than I need, and not use some of it, than to need something and not have access to it. I thought I was only going to buy this one book from Payne, but I am growing to be a fan of his and now have three books and a handful of his PDF works. This author does a really good job writing books for ALL levels of understanding. He is one of 2 or 3 Solo D&D (and other TTRPG) pioneers out there today and I will endorse any product that makes my game more fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Hexcrawl Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
by John [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2024 13:29:39

This is an instrumental book for fantasy game masters or someone who wants to use random imagery to inspire storytelling. It is essentially 6 x 6 x 6 different little pictures (icons) that can inspire decisions or creativity for solo role-playing, group role-playing (for the DM or even for players who want inspiration for their player agency), or even for fledgling writers looking for inspiration and ideas for their creative storytelling. It's 250+ pages chock full of creative ideas and useful information. In the back of the book are several pages of bonus content to help anyone considering converting content from a fantasy RPG 5e to Pathfinder, OSR, or OSR or one of the other systems. There is nothing negative to write about this product. Some may complain about not having expensive artwork, but this keeps the price reasonable; the lack of art lets you do the scenery in your head. If you have enjoyed other solo RPG tools, or random table books for inspiration, you will most definitely find scads of material here to be helpful. Highly recommended as a tool for your own work or creative thinking, and of course, solo gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale FlexCrawl Toolkit
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2024 07:28:25

the maps are well done and go well to gether. My one critism is that there are only one tile of the "sv" type which show the secret areas but donot have a "S2 symbol to indicate the secret door. I would like a "sv" version of all the tiles for this set to be useful for me. Also if its possible it would time saving for VTT users to have a .dd2vt file for each tile to allow various VTT prgrams to import line of sigh information. The random content generator is clever but is not as good as the system used in in Gold and Glory for savageworlds which in my opinion generated the best random dungeons I have seen since Gary Gygax did the first random dungeon in the Strategic Reeview magazine back in the 70's



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale FlexCrawl Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
by Thizz [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2024 19:15:55

cant think of playing solo without this now. endless inspiration no matter what it is youre doing or playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Image Oracle Omnibus (system-neutral)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale FlexCrawl Toolkit
by Thizz [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2024 19:15:07

Bonkers crazy detail and amazing power. i'm gona use this for every solo game and my normal group too. Maps fit together perfect and players love them. only bad thing is i want more tiles but theyre coming soon i think. amazing value



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale FlexCrawl Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Hexcrawl Atlas: Full DM View: Western Realm of Aquilae
by Andrew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2023 09:11:34

This is a very strong product. An insane amount of work has been committed here and it's worth the money. I enjoy the fact that a huge amount of it is left wide open so that as a GM I have the space to homebrew.

Just to note, I had a minor issue with one of my downloads and the customer care I received was excellent - mistakes happen, it's all about how you respond which counts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Hexcrawl Atlas: Full DM View: Western Realm of Aquilae
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
by Tim [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2023 17:26:19

A large, rambling and confusing document. There is some good content in here, it's just so difficult to find amongst all the clutter. The text could easily be reduced by 75%, made more succinct, specific and streamlined.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (multisystem: Pathfinder, P2E, 5E, OSR, DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dark Obelisk 1: Berinncorte Basecamp (Pathfinder)
by jacob k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2023 02:47:42

A ton of useful information, well put together and WOW... it's a huge thick book! worth every penny as I started reading. Look forward to getting the other ones by this publisher. Worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Obelisk 1: Berinncorte Basecamp (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 134 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates