DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
 
$49.99 $24.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 16
1 1
0 1
1 0
0 0
Delta Green: God\'s Teeth
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Michael [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2024 18:33:42

My spoiler-free review of this campaign is that I liked it, but it's nowhere near as good as the masterpiece that is Impossible Landscapes. It features copious amounts of both child abuse and animal abuse, to the point that even I as an experienced CoC and DG GM would be hesitant to run it for any table, even a group of my friends. And it doesn't really feel like a Lovecraftian horror campaign, more like a gritty detective drama with some supernatural elements.

Potential spoilers from here on:

God's Teeth begins with the Agents being contacted by a rogue DG operative for an unsanctioned operation. They are to travel to a remote orphanage/farm and kill the 4 adults there, all of whom are abusing the children. This sets into motion a series of events which leads to the Agents returning to cover their tracks 15 years later and to deal with the fallout of what happened at that orphanage.

It turns out that the orphanage was a cover for a cult of Shub-Niggurath which was led by a powerful witch seeking the recipe for immortality. This recipe just so happened to involve the heinous abuse of both children and animals.

15 years after the Agents kill the witch and her lackeys, two shocking murders occur just days apart. The murder victims can both be traced back to the orphanage, and it isn't long until the Agents discover that the culprits are a group of children who survived that horrible place. It turns out that the Agents themselves, the group of survivors, and any number of other people and animals are just pawns in a game of chess being played by an ancient, hungry god. They are the God's Teeth.

To address the elephant in the room, yeah, this campaign delves into some really heavy stuff. Honestly the animal abuse depicted in this scenario bothered me far more than the child stuff, especially because it frequently involved domestic animals like dogs and cats. I've run many, many horror RPGs for many different groups and I consider myself to be pretty good at knowing when to delve into disturbing content and when to ease off, but I don't think I could ever run God's Teeth for any group. It's just hard for me imagine any group of people having fun playing this particular scenario at a table, no matter how much they like Delta Green or how unbothered they think they would be by animal/child abuse.

I’m not a prude; I love all sorts of dark and disturbing stuff and gore and taboo subjects. But in my opinion, the content depicted in this scenario crosses a line where it just becomes impossible to have any sort of fun playing pretend characters in a fake world, even if that world is supposed to be full of macabre, morbid secrets. And that's a shame because I really like a lot of the stuff in this book.

But there is a lot of other plot stuff in God's Teeth that I'm not a huge fan of. I thought that the Shub-Niggurath cult was way more interesting than Bast and her hunger, but unfortunately that cult is kind of just an inciting force for the campaign and nothing more.

All of the plot points, characters, locations, and themes depicted in this book just don't really come together in a satisfying way. It felt like the author had a lot of really cool ideas and really tried his hardest to make them all work together, but he couldn't quite do it.

Honestly, I think he would have done much better to just leave out the child abuse stuff and all of the weird predeterminism stuff and to write a campaign that is just a group of Agents working in the service of Bast - either knowingly or unknowingly - to take down a Shub-Niggurath cult.

The whole section that starts off the second chapter in 2016, wherein the Agents travel back to Maryland to assist in uncovering a mass grave at the orphanage, just seems unnecessary and out of place. Your Agents are supposed to get really into the idea of crafting an official narrative around the crimes and deciding which agency to blame for the whole mess, but I'm just not sure that any group is going to get too invested in this part. It kind of just feels like a waste of 5-6 game sessions to me.

Fortunately a lot of the other sections are a lot stronger and more compelling, but like I said before, God's Teeth just doesn't have that Lovecraft feel for me.

The book itself is well-written, though, and I like the little "synchronicity" moments, even if they feel like they're trying to imitate the feel of the surreal moments from Impossible Landscapes.

Maybe your particular group will absolutely love this scenario, but for me, it's hard to imagine sitting at a table with 3-5 people on a Saturday night and actually having fun with many of the parts of this campaign, no matter who those 3-5 people are and how skillfully I present the content as a Handler.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Web [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2024 23:18:22

This campaign is a wonderfully creepy and disturbing storyline! Caleb Stokes is a fantastic addition to the DG writing team. Hope is kept alive that the agents might actually make it through to a positive resolution…

Yeah, like that could happen! But it’s a wonderful ride to oblivion!

I strongly recommend this work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by RJ [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2023 09:35:32

It's an interesting book to be sure. It's not afraid to go places most books don't dare to tread. That said, in terms of the unnatural, it's not massively in your face evil.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Dominic [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2023 06:30:39

One of the most visceral, gripping campaigns I've yet to experience from the folks at Arc Dream. This is a testament to the success of the updated ruleset and content. Caleb Stokes is phenomenal at crafting these stories, and Dennis' art is chilling! Everyone's work here shines through in the most gut-churning way. (And yes, that's a good thing.)

If your players are knee deep in Delta Green, this module will surely sink them further. It's horrifying and shocking in the best of ways, and handles its dark subject matter with tact and thoughtfulness.

Be sure to pay attention to the content warning, and read the entire module. Discuss potential themes or triggers with your agents. This campaign can be brutal and oppressive. Once you're set to go, I highly recommend this. Without spoiling anything, it'll chew your agents up and spit them out.

Have fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Stefan [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2023 03:27:43

First, take the content warning seriously - where Delta Green is always grim and dark, this contains sequences that are pitch black.

It is a great campaign, with a lot of opportunities for intense roleplay. If you're thinking of running this, I'd recommend listening to the original Actual Play from RPPR (October 2015, especially the Go Forth and Red Thoughts episodes, the later ones correspond to the upcoming God's Hunt collection) and the playtest on Caleb Stoke's Patreon. Those are great for inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Eric [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2023 09:00:55

While dealing with dark subject matter, this series of scenarios is not exploitative or gratuitous. It also provides a great framework for a long-running campaign. Starting in 2001 and ending in 2020, it is insert other scenarios to run a long campaign where the issues of the first scenario come back to haunt the Agents years later after they've been long forgotten.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by John [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2023 09:00:19

This is one of the best scenarios I have ever read. Be warned though... it goes to some very dark places and may not be for all groups. That being said, the material is handled with sensitivity and grace and the plot will definitely give a group memorable RP moments. No exaggeration... this easily ranks up there with the best like CoC's "Masks of Nyarlathotep", Warhammer's "Enemy Within" Campaign, and D&D's "Ravenloft." It is obviously very different in tone than those, but the care, scale, and potential for an unforgettable experience makes it an instant classic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Jonathan [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2023 08:46:02

I am not exaggerating when I say this is the most bleak thing I've ever read. This is not a complaint but a testament to Caleb Stokes' writing skills. For a high-level overview, this is a campaign set over just shy of 20 years that tackles extremely dark subjects and the institutional violence America inflicts, especially against children.

In many ways, this campaign can only be discussed with the context of its political position. This is not a campaign about unpronounceable deities and cultists in the backwoods (although they are there when the Agents go looking for them); if you're expecting a pulpy campaign where your players can come out at the end feeling like the unambiguous good guys, like heroes who saved the day, look elsewhere. This is a campaign about governmental indifference to suffering, about red tape in the face of missing children, about bureaucrats trying to play the blame game instead of seeking justice, where detectives argue why a homicide should be another agency's problem so it doesn't affect their clearance stats. This is a campaign about the gaping wide cracks in the foster care system that swallow children whole, about the prison cells we separate families into for the crime of seeking a better life. If any singular work is a counterpoint to the claim made in some circles that Delta Green constitutes "copaganda" because it features player characters in law enforcement, it is this campaign.

Story content aside, this campaign has wonderfully executed mechanics that reinforce the sense of fatalism it seeks to convey. The system of "marking" PCs allows for scenes where it can be chillingly portrayed that all of the events are preordained but where no one feels "railroaded." The "teeth" mechanics could come off as pulpy and even "superpowers" in lesser hands. Still, Stokes has managed to use them to serve the cause of reinforcing the Agents' lack of control over their condition more than making them some sort of Lovecraftian superheroes.

In summary: God's Teeth is highly anticipated in the Delta Green community for a reason. It is a supremely bleak campaign that may not be suitable for all players or Handlers, but for those willing to engage with the content, it provides an experience that will be remembered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Tristan [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2023 06:22:41

I am having a hard the time trying to think of a medium other than roleplaying games which could tackle subject matter as hard as this scenario and provoke such deep a reaction. Child abuse, immigration policy, family separation, and threats of extradition all feature in one way or another among other heavy themes. The Wire and Hellraiser come to mind as comparable yardsticks of integrity in vision and realization. I recall the revulsion and loathing associated with the family separation policy during the Trump administration, but to see the institutional violence and social policies of the United States over a far longer span of time so ingeniously eviscerated and rendered into challenging material for Delta Green is wondrous. Once I started reading this material as my potential next campaign I could not put it down. I look forward and simultaneously feel great trepidation about running this campaign. I must also express my sincere respect for the subtlety of writing in God’s Teeth. The nuance and sensitivity to the subject matter covered is without parallel in the gaming material I have come across.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Vil [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2023 17:05:49

If you run DG you have to get this one. I have fond memories of Masks of Nyarlathotep and it has remained my favourite campaign until now. This one surpasses it. Easily. The handling of an extremely dark subject is done with such skill and grace in this book that I cannot praise it enough. I leave you with this: After 35 years of being in the hobby, this is the first time that after finishing reading a book I actually felt so empty and dark inside while having chills: "This is the end." Masterpiece.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Lowell [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2023 22:32:39

Arc Dream has done it again. The concept alone of this campaign breaks the mold of what is expected in a cosmic horror lovecraftian tome. An elder god I had not heard of, which has quickly become one of my favorites. A brutal engaging tale, this one could be in the same orbit with impossible landscapes, masks of Nyarlathotep, and horrors on the orient express. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2023 21:58:09

Absolute masterpiece. Caleb Stokes and Arc Dream have released a horror tale that will stick with you like the biting cold of winter. You and your players will ASK what deranged nightmare you've all been thrown into. You will KNOW the horror that is predatory reality we inhabit. You will BECOME the instrument of entropy... and you will never forget this savage tale of modern mythos horror.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Kyle [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2023 12:51:42

I've been excited for this campaign ever since it first was recorded on RPPR, and this release is beyond expectation. The fantastic weaving of fate, the esoteric, and real world horror are done with sensitivity and careful thought rarely found in most forms of entertainment let alone a tabletop roleplaying games. It's a fantastic series of adventures with great pacing, writing, and plot. Cannot wait to see what comes next as this sets a new standard in horror roleplayig.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Byron [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2023 01:10:58

This is a DARK book. The horrors presented within will leave me thinking about the world we live in. If Delta Green is about monsters and tough decisions, this puts the peddle down and never lets up.

All that being said, it was handled well and handles it responsibly and well. Content warnings, constant reminders to check in with your players, and managing tone sign-post material. If you are going to go into the darkness, care for those around you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2023 07:06:15

Truly fantastic campaign. The first to horrify me simply from reading it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates